Nut Roll Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
The ingredient amounts are incorrect or something is missing. There is not enough liguid to form a dough. All of the ingredients were wasted. The two ounces of yeast alone cost me three dollars. I was very disappointed with my first attempt at making nut rolls for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
This recipe was a bust! As with the other comments, the dough would not stick together due to lack of moisture or liquid. I had to keep adding milk or water, and my nut rolls turned out horrible! I am upset that I wasted so much money on my first attempt at making nut rolls and that this recipe continues to be posted after these negative reviews. It is obvious that this person did not use this recipe before posting, or they are trying to pull someone's leg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2000
after adding 6 cups of flour to the liquid, it is so dry there is no way i can roll it out. What is missing here?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2001
I had to add butter and water to the dough to make it kneadable. Next time I would use my own strudel dough recipe. Also, the filling was rather dry. I'd brush the dough with butter before spreading nut mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2003
Like the others said, the mixture doesn't form into dough at all. It was severely disappointing. I do not recommend this recipe AT ALL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
Nothing wrong with this recipe (compare with others). Only that the quant. of flour should be: 4 CUPS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
My recipe for nut roll I got from my mother and it is very similar with these differences. 5 1/2cups flour, 1 cup sour cream, 3 eggs and 1 stick of butter(1/2 cup) melted,2 tsps vanilla, 3 Tbsps. sugar. Only 1-1 1/2lbs. nuts and 1/2 cup milk in the nuts instead of butter and 1 cup sugar and 1 egg. Brush with butter and let rise. This makes 4 large rolls. Bake at 350 for 30-35 min. this dough can even be a little sticky. I hopeyou will try these adjustments. I grew up with this bread at holidays and now my son loves it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
Well i agree the dough did have soemthing missing and I added water. I am still in the process of making the roll however I wish I would have read these reviews before I started.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
it is amber!!!**** next door>>>> this recipe is awesummmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

See how to make an amazing cookie with nuts and white chocolate.

Baked Omelet Roll

What a great way to feed a hungry breakfast crowd!

Harvest Vegan Nut Roast

See how to make a hearty vegan main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States