Nut Butter Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
delicious! we have made them for the last couple holiday seasons. they are a favorite of my whole family. we use vanilla, instead of almond extract. and we roll them in powdered sugar after they have cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
Yes! These are absolutely NUT BUTTER BALLS! I followed the directions exactly. Made 9 dozen (that's 108 cookies, recipe actually made more so don't be afraid to make them a little bigger) for a Cookie Exchange Party for the Holidays. They are just like I remembered as a child. I used the vanilla extract and used less walnuts (finely ground) as a reviewer suggested. RICH with butter ~ DELICIOUS not too sweet ~ THE BEST combination of butter, powdered sugar and walnuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Luvs Papa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I made these with pecans run through my food processor, and they came out DELICIOUSLY. I did roll them once while still warm but also rolled them a second time after they had cooled. This is such a necessary step that I'm amazed it didn't appear in the original recipe; otherwise, your cookies have a bunch of "bled-through" places where the oils work through the confectioner's sugar -- most notably where your fingers touched it when rolling while warm and then placing on whatever you used for a cooling rack. Having made a double batch, I stored them in a plastic one-gallon ice cream tub with a sheet of waxed paper between each layer of cookies. Before setting any cookies on each sheet of waxed paper, I sprinkled more confectioner's sugar on the paper. I also sprinkled the tops of each layer of cookies before placing the next sheet of waxed paper. This seems to be helping them stay fresh, as well as keeping the cookies looking just as good as they taste. I will definitely make this again; I could eat an entire batch all by myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V. L. Hartman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
I made these once with almonds and almond extract, and once with hazelnuts (filberts) and vanilla extract. They were both good, but didn't quite have the melt in my mouth texture I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kilgore, Texas, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2000
Really easy to make, very nutty...nice holiday cookie when you don't have time to spare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
This is the same recipe as the one I know as "almond balls." My recipe uses only a 1/2 tsp of almond extract and just 1 cup of finely-chopped almonds; otherwise it is identical. These are easy to make and each one is a tasty, powdery mouthful of subtle almond flavor. This is one of the desserts featured at our group's Norwegian julebords in Thousand Oaks and Santa Barbara.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieWeasel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
Extremely easy and tasty...a few adjustments...I used only 1 cup of nuts w/ an extra 1/2 c flour, and it was still a little too nutty (you REALLY have to like nuts) and make sure you ground the nuts really fine. Will make again w/ less nuts and I'm sure I'll love them even more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mechanicville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
These are great with chopped pecans instead of walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
I took these to work for our Christmas celebration. They all loved them! Several asked for the recipe to give to their spouses. I will decrease the nuts to one cup next time but that is all. This recipe is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2003
I added a little extra Almond extract and these cookies were awesome. They were a hit at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

T's Peanut Butter Balls

See how to make crunchy, chocolaty, quick energy snacks!

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States