Nova Scotian Hodge Podge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2004
I am from Nova Scotia and I look forward to this summer meal all winter. My family doesn't use turnip or flour (I guess thats just our taste) and the heavy cream definatly isn't optional for us. Only use fresh veggies, thats the best part:) Thanks for sharing the Nova Scotian heritage recipe, hehe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2004
YUM!!! My entire family loves this stuff. I'm from Nova Scotia and this is the big dish of the harvest ~ we use new potatoes, green beans, and yellow beans. Sometimes carrot, but, as a rule, usually the potaotes and beans. Thanks for posting this Vivian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I came across this recipe as I had some turnips to use....and my family really liked it! I omited the wax beans and added onion- also omited the butter and used light cream. I added parsely, pepper & seasoning salt, and thickened with sifted corn starch instead of flour. I also used vegetable broth instead of water. I pureed the soup a bit so my kids would eat more of the veggies. In all, a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
Even good without cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
I have lived in Nova Scotia my whole life and always look forward to this recipe at the end of each Summer. It tastes so good. I highly recommend using the cream but we omit the flour, we always use beans, potatoes, and carrots, other vegetables sometimes for a change but potatoes and beans are a necessity. If you are from Nova Scotia or aren't this is a recipe to really try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
Here in New Brunswick, we also look forward to Hodge Podge, though I have never tried it with turnip. This is delicious with fresh rolls or biscuits. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
Wonderful recipe! My parents are from N.S. and I have had Hodge Podge before, but not like this!! The cream and the flour made a huge difference!! I skipped the turnip and added onions for extra flavour. Thanks for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Goodwood, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I tried this recipe and like it very much. I used a few substitues to make it more low fat and healthy for my diet because I am vegetarian,borderline diabetic and have heart disease. I followed the recipe but used 2 tablespoons of Earth Balance Buttery spread instead of the 6 tablespoons of butter the recipe called for. Instead of the 1/2 cup of heavy cream I used plain lowfat organic yogurt. I omitted the flour. I used veggie pepper for added taste (it's a condiment combination course black pepper, dehydrated onion,garlic, celery and bell pepper and no salt since salt is a no-no for me. I love this recipe and it tasted great on a cold winter evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
I am from New Brunswick, now in Ontario.One dish I always make is Hodge Podge, no matter what the season. I just luv this stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stirrinuptrouble

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
here is my version of hodge podge. the main (and best) ingredient in mine is new peas. then add little new potatoes, carrots, and new string beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States