Nova Scotian Hodge Podge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
I didnt add cream to this recipe because i dont like cream. Also, i don't know what waxed beans are - i dont think we have them in england, so i didnt add them either. I thought this was ok, but it was a bit bland. I think it could have done with some garlic added in at the beginning. It was definitely warm and filling, but at the same time, lacking a bit of flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
this was a dish that has a lot of potential, it was very filling, but not too heavy. the medley of vegetables was very nice also; sadly, it severely lacked any flavor, it needs a couple of spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
A bit too much butter, I'd probably cut it to 3tbs or less next time around. Great veggie soup, though, with a nice creamy compliment. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
Here in New Brunswick, we also look forward to Hodge Podge, though I have never tried it with turnip. This is delicious with fresh rolls or biscuits. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I came across this recipe as I had some turnips to use....and my family really liked it! I omited the wax beans and added onion- also omited the butter and used light cream. I added parsely, pepper & seasoning salt, and thickened with sifted corn starch instead of flour. I also used vegetable broth instead of water. I pureed the soup a bit so my kids would eat more of the veggies. In all, a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
I love hodge podge being from nova scotia this is a summer treat along with blueberry grunt ... cream as stated prior is must not an option thanks !!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marjie Bennett
Home Town: Lower Sackville, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
quite a good veggie recipe. I omitted the cream, and it still turned out great. i had to add more salt for flavour and cornstarch to thicken the soup. i also replaced and added some veggies, such as onions. however, i must say that the carrots rang a rather discordant taste, as it was slightly sweet amidst all the non-sweet veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
Wonderful recipe! My parents are from N.S. and I have had Hodge Podge before, but not like this!! The cream and the flour made a huge difference!! I skipped the turnip and added onions for extra flavour. Thanks for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Goodwood, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
I have lived in Nova Scotia my whole life and always look forward to this recipe at the end of each Summer. It tastes so good. I highly recommend using the cream but we omit the flour, we always use beans, potatoes, and carrots, other vegetables sometimes for a change but potatoes and beans are a necessity. If you are from Nova Scotia or aren't this is a recipe to really try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2004
YUM!!! My entire family loves this stuff. I'm from Nova Scotia and this is the big dish of the harvest ~ we use new potatoes, green beans, and yellow beans. Sometimes carrot, but, as a rule, usually the potaotes and beans. Thanks for posting this Vivian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States