Nova Scotian Hodge Podge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
We did not use the wax beans. I substitued low fat milk and used half the amount of butter. This will be a new family favorite. Thanks for the new recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
here is my version of hodge podge. the main (and best) ingredient in mine is new peas. then add little new potatoes, carrots, and new string beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I have made this recipe when I lived in Nova Scotia.We used root vegtables such as turnips we also used cabbage and the traditional fall vegatables.One of my husbands favorite maritime dishes is codfish cakes.Has anyone ever made these?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
I am from New Brunswick, now in Ontario.One dish I always make is Hodge Podge, no matter what the season. I just luv this stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stirrinuptrouble

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darryl
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
As I understand it, wax beans are simply yellow beans. In any case this is such a fantastic recipe. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
Even good without cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
I give a 4 star but with some modifications. In my area of Nova Scotia, the key ingredients are new potatoes, fresh green and yellow beans, and new/baby carrots. It is called hodge podge because you can put an assortment of veggies in it. I always add brocolli and cauliflour, sometimes zucchini, or any other fresh veggie that strikes your fancy. For added flavour I cook the veggies in chicken or turkey stock, with added water if necessary. Barely cover the veggies with the stock/water, and start with the veggies that take the longest to cook first and adding the quick cookers like the beans last which essentially steam on top of the broth. The vegetables should be tender crisp and I would think the times in the receipe would overcook the veggies. Real cream and butter makes the meal decadent but skimmed evaporated milk can be used too if trying to cut back on fat & calories (and costs). There is no need to thicken with flour. The consistency is like a thin chowder as opposed to a thickened sauce or soup. Some people like to add corned beef or cooked ham from a boiled dinner to it to make it an even heartier meal. Whatever version you try, enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
211 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sambro, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
I only rate truely amazing dishes as 5 stars, and since this is "just" a creamy vegetable soup, I opted for four. BUT, I really really enjoyed it! I didn't use turnips, but followed the recipe otherwise. It seems like the veggies get awfully cooked, which isn't the way I normally prepare them, but after making the dish as written, I don't think I'd change anything. Comfort food to the max.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 92DORE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I tried this recipe and like it very much. I used a few substitues to make it more low fat and healthy for my diet because I am vegetarian,borderline diabetic and have heart disease. I followed the recipe but used 2 tablespoons of Earth Balance Buttery spread instead of the 6 tablespoons of butter the recipe called for. Instead of the 1/2 cup of heavy cream I used plain lowfat organic yogurt. I omitted the flour. I used veggie pepper for added taste (it's a condiment combination course black pepper, dehydrated onion,garlic, celery and bell pepper and no salt since salt is a no-no for me. I love this recipe and it tasted great on a cold winter evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
A friend of mine who moved to BC from Nova Scotia taught me how to make hodgepodge but with the very earliest spring veggies but NOT turnips. Too strong. No flour or water..only cream and butter. She says I make it as well as a Nova Scotian does......it is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Southwest Tortilla Soup

Discover time-saving tricks for making delicious tortilla soup.

Jersey Fresh Tomato Soup

See how to make a fresh tomato soup that’s creamy without being high fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States