Nougat Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Amazingly addictive. Very simple taste, but the texture is what gets you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki Weed

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Genoa City, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
This is one of my favorite cookie recipes! Everything came out perfect, including the nougat. I kept it at medium heat and the sugar melted perfectly and hardened quickly. I did as some of you suggested and I substituted the water for the vanilla extract and it was great. I like that the cookies were thin, crispy and chewy all at the same time. The only thing was that I had to add alot of extra flour so the dough wouldn't stick when I tried to roll it up. Other than that, it was great, gone in 3 days!!! Very unique flavor, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Sooo yummy. these are my new favorite cookies! they are super easy to make and are delicious. I substituted vanilla extract for the water, which added a lot of flavor- i think theyd be rather dull without it. Also used vegan butter (earth balance) and it still turned out great! thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chalkalot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Wow. Ditto what another reviewer said -- my new favorite cookie! These are delicious (I am a sucker for the taste of melted sugar caramel) -- I think the caramel bits would be delicious in other cookies as well. I did add a pinch of salt (used unsalted butter), but next time I would use salted butter with an additional pinch of salt (I like salty & sweet together), and will give vanilla a try as well. Thank you Florida Ray!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmyra, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Thank you Florida Ray, I think I have found my new favorite cookie recipe! My second batch is still in the oven but I couldn't wait to say how good these are. Such an easy recipe with so few ingredients, yet so yummy. I made one tiny change, I put vanilla in everything so I substituted a tsp of water for a tsp of vanilla. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kellogg, Idaho, USA
Living In: Ampang, Selangor, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michele
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Five stars. Give these cookies a try. You will be glad you did. I crushed the nougat in a plastic bag with a wooden mallet. My second batch of cookies, substituted 1 teaspoon of water with vanilla as the previous reviewer tried. Great good both ways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Thank you, Florida Ray! And to the other reviewers as well - collaboration is a wonderful thing! My family loved these cookies - they are different and delicious. The buttery taste of the cookie and sugar-infused nougat are the perfect combination. The advice to not over-brown the sugar was very helpful to me. As soon as the sugar began to liquefy and became golden brown, I transferred it to the greased pan. Be careful - even though you use medium heat - that mixture is very hot! And it takes a minute to cool down enough to handle it. I actually burned my finger after I poured the nougat into the cake pan and grabbed the pan after a few minutes to move it. It was still very hot on the bottom under where the nougat was. Because we love sugar, I doubled the sugar and used one cup instead of the recommended half cup of sugar to make the nougat. There is also something entertaining to me about using a hammer as a part of cookie baking. I substituted one tsp of vanilla for one of the tsps of water as mentioned by another reviewer. The cookies took a little longer to brown on the bottom than the 10-12 minutes. Even though I made a few smaller cookies and a few larger ones - for me - the baking time was closer to 14 minutes, but I also use very heavy-duty cookie sheets. The cookies were not very brown on the top - they came out more white like a sugar cookie, but the taste is marvelous. My husband is an avid tea drinker and said he loved this cookie with this Typhoo tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
When these cookies were in the oven, I was sure I'd done something wrong. They don't come out at all like what I'd normally expect from a cookie, but they are somewhat like a Welsh cookie that is baked on a griddle. That said, these are delicious and make perfect company for a mug of hot tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Had a bad day and wanted cookies. These struck my fancy because they call for a cathartic smashing of nougat. Followed the recipe almost exactly (just added salt). Came out great; everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockaway, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States