Nougat Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Thank you Florida Ray, I think I have found my new favorite cookie recipe! My second batch is still in the oven but I couldn't wait to say how good these are. Such an easy recipe with so few ingredients, yet so yummy. I made one tiny change, I put vanilla in everything so I substituted a tsp of water for a tsp of vanilla. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kellogg, Idaho, USA
Living In: Ampang, Selangor, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Amazingly addictive. Very simple taste, but the texture is what gets you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki Weed

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Genoa City, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michele
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Five stars. Give these cookies a try. You will be glad you did. I crushed the nougat in a plastic bag with a wooden mallet. My second batch of cookies, substituted 1 teaspoon of water with vanilla as the previous reviewer tried. Great good both ways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Sooo yummy. these are my new favorite cookies! they are super easy to make and are delicious. I substituted vanilla extract for the water, which added a lot of flavor- i think theyd be rather dull without it. Also used vegan butter (earth balance) and it still turned out great! thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chalkalot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Didn't care for these much-seems to be missing something, maybe some salt/vanilla would do the trick. The nougat was interesting, easy enough to make, but didn't really add anything to the cookie itself except for a simple crunchy-sugary taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
My cookies did not turn out how I had expected at all. It could have been that in making the nougat, I waited a tad bit too long, which makes all the difference in the world! A tip to others: the moment all the sugar is carmelized and a light brown color; pour it immediently! It will taste how nougat should (mine tasted burnt, as I waited too long). Also, some reviews say to add more vanilla for better taste, but too much will make it taste odd, so watch out :). Other than that, the cookie was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ern
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
The batter ended up really dry so I added a splash of milk, and then it was moldable into the roll. I had a little fun and added twice the nougat, and the second batch I made was 1 cup sugar, and 1 square unsweetened bakers chocolate, made for a chocolatey-caramel flavour. The actual cookie is very much like a biscuit/cookie hybrid. My roommate claimed that "[I am] a cookie genius"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ern

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Had a bad day and wanted cookies. These struck my fancy because they call for a cathartic smashing of nougat. Followed the recipe almost exactly (just added salt). Came out great; everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockaway, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
These didn't have a lot of flavor, but were moist and sugary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
This is one of my favorite cookie recipes! Everything came out perfect, including the nougat. I kept it at medium heat and the sugar melted perfectly and hardened quickly. I did as some of you suggested and I substituted the water for the vanilla extract and it was great. I like that the cookies were thin, crispy and chewy all at the same time. The only thing was that I had to add alot of extra flour so the dough wouldn't stick when I tried to roll it up. Other than that, it was great, gone in 3 days!!! Very unique flavor, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States