Not Your Mother's Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I made 2 changes, used 1/2 cup walnut oil (expensive) and 1/2 cup canola oil plus reduced the white sugar to 1 cup, loved it - baked within the time listed - had never ground my own coriander before - wow smells so good - did toast the walnuts - have added this recipe to my favorites
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Not Your Mother's Pumpkin Bread: A wonderfully moist and delicious bread! I used olive oil instead of Walnut Oil (it is rather expensive and I was trying for the first time), and cooking Sherry instead of Cream Sherry (perhaps that's the same thing??). Put into two 5 x 9 loaves. Made full, lovely loaves of melt-in-your-mouth pumpkin bread. I will make small loaves to give as gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Very nice as is. As I prefer things a little less sweet I cut the white sugar down to 1-1/3 c. The sherry is necessary to provide the acid to activate the baking soda and to add liquid to make the steam that raises the bread, so if you don't want to use it, sub with apple juice concentrate or orange juice or strong Earl Grey tea, that will do the same things the sherry does. You may want to sub powdered ginger or allspice for part of the cloves, since for some so much clove may be a bit overpowering. The walnut oil is wonderful, but the less expensive sunflower seed oil or peanut oil is almost as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Fabulous...followed one reviewer's advice to soak some raisins in the cream sherry for 20 minutes before adding to the mix. A terrific idea, because you pick up the richness of the sherry (I used Vanilla Cream Sherry from NY State) in every bite. My husband and son thought this was a terrific pumpkin bread. Thank you for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZMULLEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Delicious! I made some of this because it is fall and it is time to enjoy some of the delicious breads of the season. This is not exception! I made one batch, and while I had to substitute the walnut oil for safflower oil with some Hazelnut extract, it turned out wonderfully. I will be making more as soon as I get the walnut oil it calls for as I think that nutty flavor was the only thing mine was lacking, and the hazelnut was just a little tame.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Excellent Recipe! I didn't add the cream sherry or nuts (my husband hates them) and it was absolutely perfect! I will keep this recipe for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
tastes good but not good enough to make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Made this using pumpkin pie spice and extra mace and ginger. Also used half T each baking soda and aluminum free baking powder, got immense lift. Used 2 cups chopped toasted walnuts (we love nuts) would be good with pecans or toasted pumpkin seeds too. Soaked 1/2c craisins in the sherry warmed in microwave for one minute to help absorb. Used half butter half oil, little shy on the oil. Went half cup less on each sugar measurement. Add the eggs to the creamed mixture before adding pumpkin as with all baked goods. Baked 6 mini loaves (40min) and one dozen mini bundt (30 min). Perfectly baked, no goopiness. I have never had good success baking full size loaves with most quick breads, so I don't! Would have made 10 mini loaves without the bundts. I filled everything using a 1/4c/2oz disher (average icecream scoop) and one was perfect for the muffin size, three heaping each was more than enough per loaf. Mixed warm softened 8oz creamcheese with 3T real maple syrup for a drizzle to serve. Not too sweet and very delicious. Heading out to take mini loaves to homebound elderly neighbors. Yay autumn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I made the pumpkin bread for my husband to take to school for the teachers christmas treat table. It received rave reviews. Thank you for presenting this receipe. Butterflysam1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This bread is AMAZING!!! It is so rich and flavorful. The only thing I changed was that I used pecans instead of walnuts because that's what I had on hand, other than that this recipe is perfect. The walnut oil really gives it a wonderful flavor. I would not try to substitute it unless you want to use a different nut oil like pecan or hazelnut. I'm not a fan of sipping cream sherry (my mother told me it used to be her favorite drink over ice), but if you sip it while eating a slice of this bread the flavors just burst in your mouth - this bread is incredible!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

How to Make Pumpkin Bread

If you like banana bread, you’ll love this holiday pumpkin bread.

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States