Not Your Mom's Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by rplorson
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Great recipe! This is one of those recipes you make and can then eat for the week. I've made this recipe a bunch of times now and have tried a few minor variations. First off, I always add veggies. I will just cook a bag of frozen veggies and add it when putting it all together. I enjoy adding some seasoning when cooking the ground beef (I've used a burger seasoning mix or just a small bit of paprika, garlic & chili powder. I also tried adding bacon to the breadcrumb topping and that was good, but not necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rplorson

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aga G
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Love it! I added broccoli to make it a little healthier. Just add raw broccoli to the cheese mixture before anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Loved the flavor of the cheese sauce. I left out the ground beef. I have been searching for an Adult Mac and Cheese and this is it. I will add some cream next time to make it just a tad more creamy. I also added ground mustard. It's a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
Cheese sauces like this in general need quite a bit of salt to really make them stand out. I used galic salt instead of garlic powder and added some salt, but there really should be a suggested amount - most people when they read "salt to taste" will definitely under-salt a cheese sauce. Other than that, it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Loved it! Kinda silly to give a lower rating just because you didn't like the title. I didn't have fontina or white cheddar, so I just used some mozerella, mild cheddar, and a 4 cheese mexican blend. Turned out great! Will definitely make again. Thanks. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaltyJenn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
delicious! i use the sauce in this recipe to make regular mac and cheese too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michele McCormick
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Not sure if I should be reviewing my own recipe, but I just tried this with Johnsonville Italian Sausage instead of Hamburger and my family absolutely LOVED this. I made it for company and it was all gone and everyone raved about it! I suggest trying it with sausage at least once!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele McCormick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I gave it only three stars because of the name, mostly. It was a very good dish....but I wouldn't exactly call it Mac and Cheese. It's more of a ground beef casserole. So, if you're looking for a real, cheesy, comforting Mac and cheese either try another recipe or make more of the cheese part. As I said, it was very good...just don't make it expecting cheesy indulgence.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Baked Macaroni and Cheese

This easy recipe yields creamy, gooey, delicious mac and cheese.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States