Not Your Average Grilled Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2015
The chicken was really moist! I used tofutti "sour cream" instead of regular and shallots instead of red onions but otherwise stuck to the recipe pretty closely. Next time I'll add more salt to the sour cream mixture, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2015
Perfect in every way. Never eaten a better chicken dish. I used 2 chicken quarters instead of a whole chicken. It's a little less trouble and we prefer dark meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
My wife and I had this last night and we both thought is was wonderful. My wife suggested more dill, but that is her preference. Only problem I had was that I forgot to get garlic but substituted with a teaspoon of garlic powder. It still was great. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
I'll give the concept 5 starts - butterflying the chicken for grilling is easy and surpurb! The concept of adding herbs etc under the skin is excellent. I liked the taste of the onions, garlic and herbs - but i'm still debating the sour cream. don't get me wrong, i LOVE sour cream, but this way i'm just not sure....i may try some other spread i "invent" and cook with this method. The flavor was excellent....just wasn't wild about the way the sour cream "clumped" under the skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salina, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lindsborg, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
AMAZING! I give this a perfect 5 star rating for the method alone! Never will I agonize over the timing of separate chicken pieces. This really is so easy and the bird cooks evenly and delicious. My 3lb bird was juicy and delish in about an hour. Tastes like rotisserie! I did add lemon zest and lemon juice and additional spices to the mixture but this method will lend itself to any seasoning! Thanks so very much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Cooking technique perfect! Our family did not like the mix at all and are a fan of all the ingredients. I can't explain the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Like a few of the other comments, the butterfly technique worked great! I did the majority of it in the oven, and transferred it out to the grill to finish and used my own bbq sauce, so I have not tried that part of the recipe. I have never butterflied a chicken before, but with these directions, it worked well. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babs2574

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Two Harbors, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Anoka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
What a wonderful way to grill chicken! I couldn't believe that I've been cooking all of these years and never figured this out before. Butterflying the chicken is a brilliant idea. Chicken gets cooked through evenly without charring the meat. I've used this several times already with different marinades and barbeque sauces, including this one. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYDARLING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
WOW, amazing & moist! Was a bit nervous about butterflying the chicken, but "YouTubed" a video and it was so easy. Did my own rub on an 8 lb chicken and grilled for 2 hours at about 350 degrees. Outstanding!! Served with garlic mashed potatoes, corn and rolls. So Easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cornell Grilled Chicken

See how to make Dr. Baker’s famous Cornell chicken.

Grilled Lemon & Yogurt Chicken

Watch Chef John make a healthy, low-fat chicken recipe.

Marinated Grilled Chicken II

Simple recipe that helps combat dry chicken blues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States