Not Your Average Grilled Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
WOW! This was wonderful, I also grilled some cabbage to gp with the chicken and my husband LOVED IT!!!! I did add extra olive oil to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alethia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
5 stars for the concept. We don't like the dill weed and sour cream... so we spice it differently. And it takes about an hour and a half to do a 5 lb chicken. Then we have leftovers. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
The best BBQ chicken I have ever had, and I only used pieces. Next time full bird for sure. Had twice baked potatoes with it, it was was a match.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pan burner

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
I am rating this recipe based on the technique only. Butterflying a whole chicken is the key to an evenly roasted bird. I butterflied according to these directions, and it came out perfect. I grilled the chicken skin side up, on indirect heat for an hour at 300 degrees. I am watching calories so I slipped some sliced garlic under the skin, sprinkled with some lemon pepper and lime juice and threw it on the hot grill. Don't be intimidated by the butterflying technique. It will change the way you grill chicken!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I've done this a few times now and I've always been happy with the results. I've altered the recipe a few times, like using straight Old Bay, but the cooking always comes out perfect. Don't worry about getting the backbone out completely...the goal is to get the chicken flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
This is my new favorite way to grill chicken! I did not use the marinade -- I did not have the ingredients on hand. I cut the bird per the directions and then rubbed lemon pepper between the skin and the flesh. I was positive it would not cook properly -- but it was AMAZING! When I served it to my husband, he asked, "When did we get a rotisserie?" The methodology behind the cooking is what makes this bird awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
WOW, amazing & moist! Was a bit nervous about butterflying the chicken, but "YouTubed" a video and it was so easy. Did my own rub on an 8 lb chicken and grilled for 2 hours at about 350 degrees. Outstanding!! Served with garlic mashed potatoes, corn and rolls. So Easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
What a wonderful way to grill chicken! I couldn't believe that I've been cooking all of these years and never figured this out before. Butterflying the chicken is a brilliant idea. Chicken gets cooked through evenly without charring the meat. I've used this several times already with different marinades and barbeque sauces, including this one. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYDARLING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Like a few of the other comments, the butterfly technique worked great! I did the majority of it in the oven, and transferred it out to the grill to finish and used my own bbq sauce, so I have not tried that part of the recipe. I have never butterflied a chicken before, but with these directions, it worked well. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babs2574

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Two Harbors, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Anoka, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Lemon & Yogurt Chicken

Watch Chef John make a healthy, low-fat chicken recipe.

Cornell Grilled Chicken

See how to make Dr. Baker’s famous Cornell chicken.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States