Not Your Average Grilled Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
I am rating this recipe based on the technique only. Butterflying a whole chicken is the key to an evenly roasted bird. I butterflied according to these directions, and it came out perfect. I grilled the chicken skin side up, on indirect heat for an hour at 300 degrees. I am watching calories so I slipped some sliced garlic under the skin, sprinkled with some lemon pepper and lime juice and threw it on the hot grill. Don't be intimidated by the butterflying technique. It will change the way you grill chicken!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: May 2, 2009
Fantastic recipe! I was a little worried, but this chicken came off the grill cooked perfectly. Removing the backbone was a bit of work for me, as I had never done it before, but the end result was well worth the extra effort. The meat had GREAT flavor, was super moist, and the skin was really crispy and delicious. Thank you, I'll use this method again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
5 stars for the concept. We don't like the dill weed and sour cream... so we spice it differently. And it takes about an hour and a half to do a 5 lb chicken. Then we have leftovers. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Only okay. I was not impressed with the sour cream mixture...it was just too bland. The directions for removing the back bone were great and easy as I had not done this before. Would cook this way again but only with a different seasoning mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princessxcooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
I'll give the concept 5 starts - butterflying the chicken for grilling is easy and surpurb! The concept of adding herbs etc under the skin is excellent. I liked the taste of the onions, garlic and herbs - but i'm still debating the sour cream. don't get me wrong, i LOVE sour cream, but this way i'm just not sure....i may try some other spread i "invent" and cook with this method. The flavor was excellent....just wasn't wild about the way the sour cream "clumped" under the skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salina, Kansas, USA
Living In: Lindsborg, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
WOW! This was wonderful, I also grilled some cabbage to gp with the chicken and my husband LOVED IT!!!! I did add extra olive oil to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alethia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
This is my new favorite way to grill chicken! I did not use the marinade -- I did not have the ingredients on hand. I cut the bird per the directions and then rubbed lemon pepper between the skin and the flesh. I was positive it would not cook properly -- but it was AMAZING! When I served it to my husband, he asked, "When did we get a rotisserie?" The methodology behind the cooking is what makes this bird awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I've done this a few times now and I've always been happy with the results. I've altered the recipe a few times, like using straight Old Bay, but the cooking always comes out perfect. Don't worry about getting the backbone out completely...the goal is to get the chicken flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LRAENEVETS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
Like a few of the other comments, the butterfly technique worked great! I did the majority of it in the oven, and transferred it out to the grill to finish and used my own bbq sauce, so I have not tried that part of the recipe. I have never butterflied a chicken before, but with these directions, it worked well. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babs2574

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Two Harbors, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Anoka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
WOW, amazing & moist! Was a bit nervous about butterflying the chicken, but "YouTubed" a video and it was so easy. Did my own rub on an 8 lb chicken and grilled for 2 hours at about 350 degrees. Outstanding!! Served with garlic mashed potatoes, corn and rolls. So Easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Cornell Grilled Chicken

See how to make Dr. Baker’s famous Cornell chicken.

Grilled Lemon & Yogurt Chicken

Watch Chef John make a healthy, low-fat chicken recipe.

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States