Not Red Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Vernell Fleming
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Great sauce. My family loves it and is already ready for it again. - Vernell
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vernell Fleming

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
This one is a keeper! I did change some things. I used 1/4 cup butter, 1 lb sausage, dash of chicken granules, half of a yellow onion, and half of a box of whole grain pasta. I also didn't have any sherry so I used a bit of red wine vinegar and some cranberry juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I used yellow squash as a substitute for the zucchini, and I also drained most of the sausage grease before adding the butter (since reviews complained of it being too greasy). Besides adding a little extra seasoning, this was an amazing recipe. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
My husband loved this! I used olive oil and just a little butter. Also used spinach leaves and green bell pepper instead of zucchini. Chopped some yellow onion and put it in with the mushrooms. Left out the green onion. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gerriann08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southern Pines, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
My hubby was thrilled there were leftovers! Made some changes because 1) didn't have everything called for 2) suggestions from other reviewers 3) needed to use up some things 4) we prefer robust flavors and 5) I'm ALWAYS short on time. I used some browned venison Italian sausage I always keep in the freezer for quick pizzas, and to reduce fat. Likewise, I cut butter in half and added 1/4 c. olive oil. Used about 1 tsp., rounded, chicken bouillon powder since it is quicker than cubes, less sodium, and since I didn't have the extra fat to cook the cube. Used cider vinegar, and added 2 very large cloves minced garlic. Sauteed briefly with the sausage and 8 oz. of mushrooms. Added 3/4 c. of the pasta water, the green onion, and about 3/4 lb. cubed zucchini and cooked just until squash began to soften, then added 2 c. broccoli florets plus thinly sliced stems and about 3/4 - 1 c. thickly julienned red bell pepper. Mixed about 1 1/2 Tbsp. cornstarch and 1/4 c. water and added it to the rest to make it more "saucey". Cooked just until all vegetables were cooked crisp-tender and sauce was no longer watery. Served it over whole wheat pasta and sprinkled with some sliced black olives, chopped fresh basil and crumbled feta cheese. Quick, easy and devinely yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinkRNone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I made this with Chicken sausage and it was AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Very tasty recipe! Used Knorr concentrated chicken stock, white wine instead of sherry just a bit of water as it wasn't "saucy" enough. Added garlic and some red pepper too and used Italian seasoned ground turkey. It was a hit and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morrisville, New York, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
We liked this! I got the sausage on a great sale & searched here to find this recipe. I didn't have zucchini, so I used broccoli. Nice change of pace & a good entree to use that sausage in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LNREED

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
We all loved this recipe and I'll be making it again. I used 1/2 stick of butter, based on some of the other reviews. Otherwise I didn't really measure anything...just used what I had. For me, the key was the cooking sherry and extra zucchini that I really cooked down to make the nice sauce. I also added 2 cloves of garlic. Garnished with parmesan cheese and red pepper flakes. Next time I'll use a penne or rotini instead of the buotini I had on hand. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
We loved this recipe! Made some changes, no mushrooms and started with olive oil and used spinach pesto chicken sausage, 4Tbsp butter and no sherry so went with white wine dry and we loved it! Did seed and cu be the zucchini at end and cooked till aldente. Soooo good. Thanks ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cmom76

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spaghetti with Red Clam Sauce

See how to make a super-simple pasta dish with flavorful clam sauce.

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States