Nostalgic Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I made this for a friend who is diabetic. You would of never have known that this pie was made with splendia. Everyone love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ukiah, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Wonderful recipe! I used apples from the tree in my yard and it was delicious. The only thing is did differently is decreased the nutmeg to 1/8tsp, just because of personal preference. It was very easy and quick to prepare and bake but you wouldn't know it after you taste it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
my husband was just told he has diabetes . so i have been looking for good recipes . I made this pie and my husband loves it. Keep up the good work!!!. I will be looking for more recipes here !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Delicious! Got lots of compliments. I put in about 6 cups of apples and 1 cup of fresh blueberries. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I absolutely loved it, since I am a diabetic I never thought I could have a good apple pie again, I was wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
This is an excellent sugar-free apple pie recipe. If you use 1/2 cup of Splenda and 1/2 cup of Splenda Brown Sugar Blend it makes it even better. I also put 3 tablespoons of Real Lemon in it, and instead of a regular pie crust topping, I used a crumb topping, mixing Splenda Brown Sugar Blend, flour, and butter. I baked it at 350 for 1 1/2 hrs., covering with a sheet of foil the last 30 minutes. (It will burn if you try to bake it at the temp. given in the recipe). There is NO aftertaste! I love Splenda, since becoming a diabetic, Splenda has opened up a whole world of great sweet things. Keep up the great recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
Wonderful!! I did exchange the 1 cup splenda for 1/2 cup reg splenda and 1/2 cup brown sugar splenda as was mentioned above. It worked perfectly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
Excellent apple pie. Tasted just like if it were made with sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danube66

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Budapest, Pest, Hungary
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
This pie came out amazing. Instead of 1 cup of splenda, I used 1/2 cup regular splenda and 1/2 cup brown sugar blend splenda. I used 1/2 Roma and 1/2 Fuji apples, flour instead of cornstarch, added 2 tablespoons of melted butter, and increased the cinnamon to 1 tsp. I will make this pie again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
You cant ask for a better sugar free apple pie than this! I made this for my fathers birthday since he is diabetic and he just loved it. I did make several adjustments however. Since reading alot of comments on here complaining about aftertaste I cut the splenda down to just 1/2 cup and used two types of sweeter tasting apples. Fuji's and Red Romes. Because these apples arent as tart as lets say Granny Smith apples, it wasnt necessary for so much splenda. I used more cinnamon as well, 3tsps. I didnt have nutmeg so I used 1/4 tsp of clove which goes great with apples as well. I used flour instead of cornstarch. Also the mixture does look at bit dry so I used 3 tbs of sugar free orange juice that I happened to have on hand (crystal light). This all worked so great together. You must try this pie if you cant have sugar!!! Also I only cooked this pie on 400 degrees. Hope you try this, you'll love it. Make it with the 1-2-3 pie crust here on this website. It was great as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States