Norwegian Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
I usually don't use recipes that aren't rated, but I decided to take a chance and I'm glad I did. These were great! I did use the shortening, though I was tempted to use oil. I don't know if it makes a difference or not, but they were good. I was a little afraid the batter was too thin, but the final product proved me wrong. It had the best texture of any waffles I've made and it had a good flavor. It was not super light and airy if that's what you want, nor was it super dense. It had a nice blend of chewiness and substance. My husband (who's very much a food critic) liked these very much also. I've tried over 10+ waffle recipes, and so far this is the winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Snowflake, Arizona, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
I make these waffles all the time, I love them! I do make them with butter and a little more sugar than the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Golden, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
My waffle iron broke and I used this recipe for pancakes instead. My family went nuts...said that these were the most light and flavorful pancakes that they had ever had. I found a winner and a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Harrigan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Delmar, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
These are excellent light and crisp waffles. We used non-salted butter instead of shortening and soymilk instead of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by www.GlutenReport.com

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
I needed a quick recipe for Belgian waffles that didn't require 45 minutes to an hour rise time. This was perfect! Great taste and fantastic light texture. I've used egg beaters and whole eggs, it's great either way. I usually use unsalted butter melted instead of the shortening, but I've made them both ways depending on what's on hand. I'll use this again and again for our Belgian waffles as it was exactly what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
This was a perfectly good waffle recipe once the syrup was on. The plain waffle itself doesn't have much flavor. Definitely not a dessert waffle. Fairly bland, but again it works well with syrup. I think I'll stick to my recipe in the future. For those of you who substituted butter for the shortening, you should not be rating this recipe as that completely changes it. So does coating them with powdered sugar. My rating is for this recipe made as is, and as is, it does not have butter flavor and is not very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
My Daughter asked for a waffle iron for Christmas and we tried the recipe in the book that comes with it.....NASTY!!! This is her FAVORITE recipe for waffles. They have great flavor and crispiness to fluffy ratio!! Best Waffles EVER!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by angila
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
This is a great sweet waffle recipe. I added only a pinch of salt and did beat egg white + sugar to stiff first. Folding this mixture in with everything at the last minute made the batter less runny. I also used butter instead of shortening. As a result of having a very basic waffle maker, it did not come out super fluffy, but it did turn out great. Tender, beautifully golden with wonderful aroma. It has just the right amount of egg and milk for it to be wholesome. I agree that it needs a little dusting of powdered sugar on top and goes great with fruit. In my opinion, this is probably more of a dessert waffle recipe. Update: I made it several times more by now. :) With the waffle iron preheated at medium high, it came out even better than before. Just a tiny bit of golden brown/nice and crispy on the outside with inside still moist and wonderful. 1/2 milk and half water probably helped on this as well. Loving it as a late night snack hehe. Thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
This recipe received rave reviews from my family! Crispy on the outside, and sweet and fluffy on the inside. The perfect waffle! For an autumn dish, serve with cooked sliced apples and caramel sauce. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
I make a big homemade breakfast for my family every weekend and I think I can make this recipe in my sleep now! It is the #1 requested breakfast in our house. I will make a double batch and freeze the leftovers for my husband and son during the week. I have tried other waffle recipes but this is definitely the best we have had. They almost taste like waffle cone waffles. A definite treat for my family, easy to make and absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States