Norwegian Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
A delicious, sweet treat. Super Awesome! Totally Rad! If waffles were guitar players, these ones would be Jimi Hendrix. I chose this recipe because it is so simple, and I have all the ingredients. The fact that it makes a great part of a meal is rather nice too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
very very watery-even when following the advice on a previous reviwers comments, to add the eggs after mixing all the ingredients. it made a soupy mess on my waffle iron.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Forget-Me-Not

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
My mother made these for us often. She was born in Norway and this is great finding the recipe. Although as I remember the origional or traditional recipe contained cardamon. Being 1/2 Norwegian this is a great tradition to carry on for my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
Hands down best waffles i've made so far. They are similar to a waffle cone recipe that I used to bake ice cream cones in a specialized press - thin batter, sweet taste, great consistency. I used butter instead of shortening though, but they still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
I needed a quick recipe for Belgian waffles that didn't require 45 minutes to an hour rise time. This was perfect! Great taste and fantastic light texture. I've used egg beaters and whole eggs, it's great either way. I usually use unsalted butter melted instead of the shortening, but I've made them both ways depending on what's on hand. I'll use this again and again for our Belgian waffles as it was exactly what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
This recipe was very runny. I had to add about a cup of flour and another teaspoon of baking powder to make this cook right. Also, the melted shortening gets lumpy and I had to heat the whole mixture up to get the shortening melted and mixed into the batter.It did tatse good after these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
Very easy Very fast and nice eggy texture. I prepared with 1/2 whole wheat and 1/2 white and subbed margarine for the shortening. My kids gave them a huge thumbs up. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camrose, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
these were good but i was really looking forward to a german dessert waffle. as some of the other reviewers said it was sweet but it was no where sweet enough to be a german dessert waffle. i also had a really hard time getting the shortning to mix once i added the milk. the waffle still turned out good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morton, Washington, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by angila
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
This is a great sweet waffle recipe. I added only a pinch of salt and did beat egg white + sugar to stiff first. Folding this mixture in with everything at the last minute made the batter less runny. I also used butter instead of shortening. As a result of having a very basic waffle maker, it did not come out super fluffy, but it did turn out great. Tender, beautifully golden with wonderful aroma. It has just the right amount of egg and milk for it to be wholesome. I agree that it needs a little dusting of powdered sugar on top and goes great with fruit. In my opinion, this is probably more of a dessert waffle recipe. Update: I made it several times more by now. :) With the waffle iron preheated at medium high, it came out even better than before. Just a tiny bit of golden brown/nice and crispy on the outside with inside still moist and wonderful. 1/2 milk and half water probably helped on this as well. Loving it as a late night snack hehe. Thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
I have a craving for waffles today and I found this recipe. I used my blender all the time, used "I Can't Believe It's Not Butter" and added chocolate chips. It was so yummi! It will be my breackfast the entire week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancycs

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Puerto Ordaz, Bolívar, Venezuela
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States