Norwegian Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Light and fluffy waffles. I used 3x the sugar, and used oil instead of melted shortening. These are crisp only if you freeze them, then toast to reheat. Having taken cooking classes, I know that the ratio of milk to flour should be 1:1, so I used 1 and 1/2 cups of milk instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
These were really good. I used melted butter instead of shortening and only used 1/2 tsp salt. The batter is VERY thin, but after reading other reviews that they turn out I didn't change anything else. My waffle maker only held 1/3C of batter at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Amazingly crisp yet not dry! I sub'd in for the flour - 1 cup flour and 1/2 cup corn meal. Served with honey and some fresh strawberries - great. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wontonsushi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomingdale, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
The batter is definitely thinner than expected, but the flavor is amazing! Wonderful waffle recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Prairie Grove, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
Use butter for better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOT SKILLET

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
This is not a recipe you want to try if you like fluffy waffles. These came out flat and heavy. Could not get them to rise in the waffle maker. They pretty much tasted like egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
I make a big homemade breakfast for my family every weekend and I think I can make this recipe in my sleep now! It is the #1 requested breakfast in our house. I will make a double batch and freeze the leftovers for my husband and son during the week. I have tried other waffle recipes but this is definitely the best we have had. They almost taste like waffle cone waffles. A definite treat for my family, easy to make and absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
GOod, but still looking for the perfect waffle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
This is a fantastic recipe for those who, like me, don't have time to make the traditional belgian waffle recipe. Those recipes always call for yeast and sitting for an hour. Who has time for that?? So this morning when my twin 2 year olds were asking for "wapples" for breakfast, I mixed this up in a flash and made delicious waffles for the whole family. I have a Waring Professional waffle maker (the kind that you fill and turn) and this recipe made 4 giant waffles. Plenty enough to freeze for another day. I used the recipe exactly as written and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Laughlin Sumner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
This is the only waffle recipe that has worked for me so far! I never made waffles until my husband got a waffle maker for his birthday 2 years ago. I have tried a few recipes, but they never turned out. These were crispy and had enough substance to chew, instead of some that feel like you're biting into air. I sprayed the waffle maker with cooking spray and they came out of the waffle maker very easy. My husband loves waffles and I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Roll Waffles

A cinnamon-flavored breakfast treat.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States