Norwegian Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
I usually don't use recipes that aren't rated, but I decided to take a chance and I'm glad I did. These were great! I did use the shortening, though I was tempted to use oil. I don't know if it makes a difference or not, but they were good. I was a little afraid the batter was too thin, but the final product proved me wrong. It had the best texture of any waffles I've made and it had a good flavor. It was not super light and airy if that's what you want, nor was it super dense. It had a nice blend of chewiness and substance. My husband (who's very much a food critic) liked these very much also. I've tried over 10+ waffle recipes, and so far this is the winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Snowflake, Arizona, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2006
These waffles smelled great while cooking and had great flavor, but weren't dense enough for me. If all that's being put on them is syrup they could hold up, but fruit is too heavy for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
I was pretty impressed with these. I halfed the ingredients and used Splenda Baking sugar instead of regular sugar. They hold up well, have a wonderful aroma, and met my expectations of a good waffle. Next time I'll add a little whip cream for fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
This recipe was light and fluffy, but too salty for me. Overall it was 'ok'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
I had made this recipe, for waffles for the first time - it was crisp and wholesome. And the batter was as easy as making pancakes. but in my opinion it needed fruit with it It's a light serving item that would be good on a saturday .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
Yum, these were good. I used butter instead of shortening, and added a little bit extra sugar and a little bit extra flour. Oh, yeah, and I used buttermilk instead of regular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
Heavenly good waffles. I just didn't know at what temperature to set my waffle maker, since it's got that facility, but after trying out a bit, the waffles came out really great! Crisp on the outside, soft on the inside. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
I only put in 1 egg because that is all I had but the batter was very runny. I prefer it to be a little more thicker. I also like a more crispier waffle. These do work in a pinch if I run out of Bisquick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Agency, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
I tried this recipe and my boyfriend really enjoyed eating the waffles! I added just a bit more flour so the batter wasn't quite so thin. I prefer a little heavier of a waffle but these smelled and tasted great. This was a very easy recipe to follow and make and the outcome was tasty. I will be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
Made a vegan version of this recipe, using egg substitute and soy milk and it worked out great! Also used a lactose free margarine (melted) instead of the shortening. Loved the spongy and light texture of these waffles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States