Norwegian Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
Very easy Very fast and nice eggy texture. I prepared with 1/2 whole wheat and 1/2 white and subbed margarine for the shortening. My kids gave them a huge thumbs up. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camrose, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
these were good but i was really looking forward to a german dessert waffle. as some of the other reviewers said it was sweet but it was no where sweet enough to be a german dessert waffle. i also had a really hard time getting the shortning to mix once i added the milk. the waffle still turned out good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morton, Washington, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by angila
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
This is a great sweet waffle recipe. I added only a pinch of salt and did beat egg white + sugar to stiff first. Folding this mixture in with everything at the last minute made the batter less runny. I also used butter instead of shortening. As a result of having a very basic waffle maker, it did not come out super fluffy, but it did turn out great. Tender, beautifully golden with wonderful aroma. It has just the right amount of egg and milk for it to be wholesome. I agree that it needs a little dusting of powdered sugar on top and goes great with fruit. In my opinion, this is probably more of a dessert waffle recipe. Update: I made it several times more by now. :) With the waffle iron preheated at medium high, it came out even better than before. Just a tiny bit of golden brown/nice and crispy on the outside with inside still moist and wonderful. 1/2 milk and half water probably helped on this as well. Loving it as a late night snack hehe. Thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
I have a craving for waffles today and I found this recipe. I used my blender all the time, used "I Can't Believe It's Not Butter" and added chocolate chips. It was so yummi! It will be my breackfast the entire week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancycs

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Puerto Ordaz, Bolívar, Venezuela
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
Great waffles! i did reduce the amount of salt to 1/2 tsp. and they were still a bit on the salty side...I'll use 1/4 tsp. next time. Great texture and taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
Cut back on the salt a little. The batter is runny, so I added just a bit more flour, and I separated the eggs to fold in stiff whites. Be careful how you mix it or you'll end up with lots of lumps! Very good and the aroma is heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
I loved the flavor of these, but they weren't as fluffy as I hoped for. That might be since my baking powder is a bit "aged" so to speak. I'm going to try again with fresh baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roseville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
Very fluffy pancakes! I substituted margarine for shortening without any problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2007
I make these waffles all the time, I love them! I do make them with butter and a little more sugar than the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Golden, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
Wow these were really good. I was skeptical when I saw how thin the batter was but they turned out great and the smell while they were cooking was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States