Norwegian Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
This was a perfectly good waffle recipe once the syrup was on. The plain waffle itself doesn't have much flavor. Definitely not a dessert waffle. Fairly bland, but again it works well with syrup. I think I'll stick to my recipe in the future. For those of you who substituted butter for the shortening, you should not be rating this recipe as that completely changes it. So does coating them with powdered sugar. My rating is for this recipe made as is, and as is, it does not have butter flavor and is not very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Excellent waffles. The batter is very thin so don't overfill your baker.. but the taste & texture was exactly what I was looking for. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Excellent!! I used Egg Beaters, Splenda, and wheat flour, and these came out light, fluffy, and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJCFolbrecht

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Iowa Falls, Iowa, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
This recipe was great! Crispy on the outside and chewy on the inside. I became a little nervous for a second after I mixed the dry ingredients with the wet that it was going to be too runny. But quickly, my anxiety dissolved as the batter thickened up. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
i loved this recipe it was so good i will defently make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hannibal, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
These are excellent light and crisp waffles. We used non-salted butter instead of shortening and soymilk instead of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by www.GlutenReport.com

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
Wow! This has to be the best waffle recipe I have tried. I didn't do anything different to it. Just had to make sure I beat the eggs/sugar real well. My family will be asking for these every day for a while now!!! YUM YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novi, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
I really liked this recipe. They were fluffy and tender and slightly crispy on the outside. I used melted butter instead. I reserved about 1/3 cup of milk because I found the batter very very wet. I did however let it stand for 15 mins(set the table, started the sausages etc) then the batter thickened up quite well. Would like to try with less vanilla next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This recipe is wonderful! Its very quick to make and I really like the fact that you don't have to seperate the egss like you do with some waffle recipes. I needed to make this dairy-free, so for the 1 3/4 cups of milk I substituted 1 cup of unsweetened soymilk and 3/4 cup of soy creamer and this worked well. At first I was concerned that the batter was a little runny, but after letting it sit for about 5 minutes while my waffle iron heated up the batter thickend a little bit and was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
A delicious, sweet treat. Super Awesome! Totally Rad! If waffles were guitar players, these ones would be Jimi Hendrix. I chose this recipe because it is so simple, and I have all the ingredients. The fact that it makes a great part of a meal is rather nice too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States