Norwegian Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
These are excellent light and crisp waffles. We used non-salted butter instead of shortening and soymilk instead of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by www.GlutenReport.com

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
Wow! This has to be the best waffle recipe I have tried. I didn't do anything different to it. Just had to make sure I beat the eggs/sugar real well. My family will be asking for these every day for a while now!!! YUM YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novi, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
I really liked this recipe. They were fluffy and tender and slightly crispy on the outside. I used melted butter instead. I reserved about 1/3 cup of milk because I found the batter very very wet. I did however let it stand for 15 mins(set the table, started the sausages etc) then the batter thickened up quite well. Would like to try with less vanilla next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This recipe is wonderful! Its very quick to make and I really like the fact that you don't have to seperate the egss like you do with some waffle recipes. I needed to make this dairy-free, so for the 1 3/4 cups of milk I substituted 1 cup of unsweetened soymilk and 3/4 cup of soy creamer and this worked well. At first I was concerned that the batter was a little runny, but after letting it sit for about 5 minutes while my waffle iron heated up the batter thickend a little bit and was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
A delicious, sweet treat. Super Awesome! Totally Rad! If waffles were guitar players, these ones would be Jimi Hendrix. I chose this recipe because it is so simple, and I have all the ingredients. The fact that it makes a great part of a meal is rather nice too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
very very watery-even when following the advice on a previous reviwers comments, to add the eggs after mixing all the ingredients. it made a soupy mess on my waffle iron.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Forget-Me-Not

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
My mother made these for us often. She was born in Norway and this is great finding the recipe. Although as I remember the origional or traditional recipe contained cardamon. Being 1/2 Norwegian this is a great tradition to carry on for my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
Hands down best waffles i've made so far. They are similar to a waffle cone recipe that I used to bake ice cream cones in a specialized press - thin batter, sweet taste, great consistency. I used butter instead of shortening though, but they still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
I needed a quick recipe for Belgian waffles that didn't require 45 minutes to an hour rise time. This was perfect! Great taste and fantastic light texture. I've used egg beaters and whole eggs, it's great either way. I usually use unsalted butter melted instead of the shortening, but I've made them both ways depending on what's on hand. I'll use this again and again for our Belgian waffles as it was exactly what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
This recipe was very runny. I had to add about a cup of flour and another teaspoon of baking powder to make this cook right. Also, the melted shortening gets lumpy and I had to heat the whole mixture up to get the shortening melted and mixed into the batter.It did tatse good after these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States