Norwegian Potato Klub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
It looked exactly like the picture but tasted bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowthersamyk
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
This is a very similar recipe to Polish pyzy. I cooked and mashed half of the potato first. Grated the rest of the potato's and squeezed out the water into a dish and let it sit for 15 mins. Combine the mashed potato with grated potato, add 1 egg and about 4 Tbls flour. Slowly pour out the water and notice the the potato flour on the bottom of the dish? Scrape that up and add to potato batter. Mix and form into golf balls. Cook 15-20 mins after they have floated to the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I am making these this week-end for the Viking-Saints game. This is the recipe I have always used. I do add ham to them once in a while, and will be doing it this week-end. Again, make sure you sqeeze as much moisture out of the shredded potatoes as you can, so they will not fall apart. I am waiting to fry them up the next day. I usually do not have any left to do this. My favorite comfort food. They are super!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Northwood, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I was reading other members reviews and I noticed that people were having problems with their Klub falling apart. I make Klub several times a year by grinding my potatoes in an old fashioned meat grinder. After grinding potatoes I mix with flour and turn out on board and knead flour into potatoes(just like bread) until it reaches a non-sticky consistancy(usually takes 15 minutes) I use 5 lbs of flour to 10 lbs of potatoes. I then stuff with salt pork and drop into salted boiling water for 2.5 to 3.5 hours. this recipe/technique has been in my family for over 100 years and so far my klub has never fallen apart :) .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I miss this meal! My dad is a full blooded Norwegian, he still makes this at 69 years old. This recipe is awesome... great measurements! The only thing I do different is use 1/2 white flour and 1/2 wheat. I was brought up on the salt pork, but I've done it both ways and they are equally tasty. We always slice it really thin and fry it in butter and then top it with sour cream. Nice to see this recipe shared on here :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
As written, they disintegrated to about half size while boiling, but tasted ok. A solid, inexpensive meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
I was happy to find this recipe, but I changed it a little per my Danish/Norwegian grandma's method... I used to watch her make these in her little farmhouse kitchen in Mt. Pleasant, Utah when I was a little boy, She used barley flour, which I used, and salt pork chunks rolled into the balls of dough. (I used smoked ham chunks.) She made them roughly tennis ball size, and served them to me for breakfast, steaming hot with warm maple syrup. I will never forget the deliciousness! I have been looking for a Krub recipe for years. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flying chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
I agree this is a good basic recipe. My Norwegian mom made this often - like some of the other reviewers we too called it Krub. My mom was taught to fry salt pork first with plenty of salt and pepper to put in the middle. The next day she would slice and fry it in butter - then to add the milk for gravy. More calories then just dropping it into the milk - but has got to be my favorite breakfast ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
Instead of shredding the potatoes, you can just chop them up in a food processor. Otherwise the texture is a little off. It's like eating hashbrowns with meat in the middle. When my grandma and I used to make it, we used a meat grinder. Nowadays, I just use a good old processor. Works just the same and it's faster. Of course the old fashioned way is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This stuff is the ULTIMATE comfort food!! Growing up, my grandma taught her duaghter in law (my mom)how to make it so I used to bug her a LOT to make this.. Here's how we always had it: Boil spareribs or ham hocks and cooked the Klub in the broth - and yes, salt pork in the middle using old potatoes because they are drier (or so my mom said) (sometimes) BUT we added caraway to the potatoes - served it with butter and boiled potatoes - OH YUM!!! I have been after everybody in my family to show me how to make it but I think I will take on this one with the additions my family always have thrown in - thanks for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Marble Potatoes

See how to make colorful pan-roasted baby new potatoes with bacon.

Cheese and Bacon Potato Rounds

See how to make cheesy potato rounds with crumbled bacon.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States