Norwegian Pancakes - Pannekaken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I was happy to find this recipe, my dad used to make these for us on Sunday mornings and it was always our favorite breakfast. My wife wasn't a big fan of the texture, but my daughter and I love them. I use a hand crank beater mixing the eggs and milk together until frothy, and then mix in the dry ingredients for a solid 3-5 minutes, until the batter is very smooth. We usually top with butter and sugar but these are very versatile and the recipe can be tweaked to compliment your toppings. Thanks again for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Literally just made and ate this!! I thought it was a very light and airy form of a pancake but thicker than a crepe. It was delicious and I followed the directions to a T. I simmered a frozen mix of berries over the pancakes and added a bit a whip cream!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
I fed this to my children instead of our usual crepes. They loved them! I didn't change a thing, and it worked out perfectly. We had them with syrup or strawberries and cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
i put strawberry, banana, ice cream and cream in it. love it so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dar
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Being Norwegian, I always double the recipe using 10 eggs and add 1/2 cup of melted butter and increase sugar to taste. And add flour until it has the consistency of liquid yogurt. I cooked them all up and the kids add peanut butter and powdered sugar and eat them for lunch. I also use an electric mixer to mix. If you let the batter sit for about a 1/2 hour, they will be easier to cook. My Grandmother ate them with a little powdered sugar and lemon juice. Grandpa ate them with lingonberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
My dad taught me how to make Norwegian pancakes. He learned from his mother. They didn't measure anything, but my dad said that his mom used one egg per person, but he used two eggs per person and then added milk and flour until it's the right consistency. He added a pinch of sugar to help it brown. This recipe works well and one of my daughters asked if we could have Norwegian pancakes for her birthday coming up soon. She's grown and is a grandma herself now, but on her birthday they'll come over for Norwegian pancakes for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Asatru
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
This was amazing, I make the pancakes exactly as shown, then had a blast sauteing mandarin oranges with a vanilla peach sauce to fill them with and an ice wine syrup lightly drizzled on top. The end result was divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Asatru

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I omit the salt and add about 1/4 tsp cardamom. Spread with homemade raspberry jam, roll up and YUM! My husband prefers these to any other kind of pancake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I am visiting my in-laws and this was a big hit with them. I've been trying many authentic Mexican foods made by my sister-in-law so I thought I would make something from my Norwegian heritage. Nerve racking, but worth it. This was just like my mother made them. 5 stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I love this recipe! The pancakes were fluffy and satisfying. I used strawberries with maple syrup drizzled over them as a stuffing. However, I omitted the salt and still tasted great. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

How to Make Pumpkin Pancakes

See how to make delicate pumpkin pancakes.

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States