Norwegian Lefse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
I made this recipe last year for my family at Christmas. My grandpa was 100% Norwegian. He has passed away, but my grandma tried the lefse from this recipe and said it tasted just like the lefse my grandpa's mother used to make. One thing I found with the recipe, is that the amount of butter, cream, salt, sugar and flour is enough for 5 pounds of potatoes (not 10). If you want to do 10 pounds, you will need twice the amount of other ingredients. Excellent recipe! Thank you!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
Cont: Though we ALWAYS drove down to Decorah, Iowa, for their annual Nordic Fest, and the highlight was watching the ladies dressed in traditional Norwegian clothing (of course during the hottest weekend of the year!) making lefse for purchase. There's nothing like fresh, warm, slightly crispy on the edges lefse, toppings or none! The homemade scent of lefse that filled our condo this week brought back so many great family memories! It didn't matter the holiday, there was never enough lefse to go around. We'd end up getting one each, and the rest we'd have to split with all my cousins and aunts and uncles! What a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
My husband grew up eating these as a child, but he called them Monkey Blankets. He loved them...Thank you for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bamelc0402

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Delicious! I will surely be making these again next holiday season. It was just what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyoftwins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
I am wondering if Saraphine is my cousin? Because that sounds just like my story! Our grandma was a 5th-generation immigrant from Norway who settled in WA, she brought this family recipe with her. Interestingly, we ate it the same way as you do: Rolled up with butter and sugar! According to Wikipedia, this is a variation called tynnlefse, or "thin lefse", and rolling it up with butter and sugar is called "lefse-klining". The lefse griddle I purchased also came with a similar recipe, but it called for 4 cups of flour! I believe I ended up splitting the difference and using about 3 cups: When it had the consistency of Play-Dough, that was the time to stop adding flour. It does want to stick to EVERYTHING: I found that to get it really thin like Grandma's, you have to spread flour over it GENEROUSLY, both on your work surface and on the top which contacts your rolling pin. Which is fine, because I remember the lightly floury texture the lefse always had. Thank you so much. The picture looked JUST like my grandma used to make! I'm afraid I cried into my lefse, it brought back so many wonderful family memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kirkland, Washington, USA
Living In: Monroe, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
My grandmother used to make Lefse for the entire family each Christmas. When she passed away a couple of years ago, her special holiday recipe was lost. Now that we have found this recipe (which is so close to her's!), my cousin and I are able to keep on her with Holiday tradition and maintain her memory. Thanks so much for the recipe and many years of memories to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
Ever since we found out that Great Aunt Ida had been using potato flakes to make her lefse, I've been looking for the real thing! By the way, try it with butter, sprinkled with cinnamon/sugar. Heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyle Gunderson

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Willits, California, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
A very authentic recipe--I needed to add more flour, though. Next time I will try to add a little wheat flour for health benefits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
Usually relatives make lefse for our holiday gatherings, but my daughter and I decided to try making lefse ourselves this year- it helps to have two pairs of hands! My son and daughter-in-law thought it was the best they have had. Reviewers' hints to use damp towels helped keep the lefse very tender. Rolling it very thin was key as well. We'll be making this every year- it tasted like my husband's Norwegian grandmother's lefse! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
Made a double batch with my mom yesterday. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Focaccia di Recco (Italian Flatbread)

See how to make an amazing cheese-filled Italian flatbread.

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States