Norwegian Lefse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
After reading several reviews, I was somewhat nervous about trying the recipe without adding additional flour. I decided to attempt it as written, given the reviews by people who profess Norwegian heritage, and I was successful. Following are some thoughts based on my experience that I hope will be helpful to others. First, this recipe takes MUCH LONGER than one hour to prepare. I cut the recipe in half (in case it didn't turn out), and even using only 5 lbs of potatoes, it took me a total of about 5 hours from start to finish (including peeling the potatoes, boiling, ricing, waiting for them to cool and rolling and cooking them by myself). If you are making them for a particular occasion, plan your time accordingly. Second, listen to the experience of the Norwegians. Use a lefse rolling pin. It is a ribbed pin, and the dough does not stick as much as it does on a smooth pin. You can order them on-line or find them in cooking boutiques, and they aren't very expensive. Also, use a ricer to mash the potatoes. It is worth the small investment. You really CAN make this recipe as written, and they turn out. Like some have posted, you WILL end up using about twice as much flour by sprinkling it on the table and the dough before rolling it out. Finally, roll out the dough on a pastry cloth. The dough is VERY delicate, and tears easily if you try to pick it up and move it. This way, you can pick up the cloth and turn the dough in your hand to flip it on the skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
We usually use vegetable shortening or lard instead of butter, and milk instead of cream. That's how my Norwegian Nana always did it. We also use a 30" square, ±, of well washed cotton canvas and a grooved, flat topped rolling pin. BTW, store the canvas rolled rather than folded, you'll be glad you did next time you make flat bread or lefse. Generously flour the canvas, put your ball of dough down, and flatten it with your hand. Generously flour the top then roll out quite thin, turning as needed, and closer to 1/16" is better. When cooking them, keep brushing the flour off the griddle to stay away from burnt flour taste. Roll up your lutefisk or meatballs, mashed potatoes, and creamed peas, or maybe a hot dog, mustard, and catsup and enjoy authentic Norwegian fare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I used 2.5 pounds of potatoes, halved everything else. For my first attempt this went amazingly well! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ORVILLE76

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
The taste was okay but I needed to add a 5 pound bag of flour and it still wasn't enough. I probably won't try again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
This was the most impressive recipe of Lefse that I have seen that was actually authentic-koodos
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Oh man, I am so glad I found this. Our family recipe doesn't call for sugar so I don't add it and it tastes fine. You can mash the potatoes if you don't have a ricer but it's MUCH easier with a ricer. Great recipe and freezes really well. You can also use half and half if you don't want to use heavy cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Try microwaving or baking the potatoes. It reduces the moisture from boiling and needs less flour. Less flour, less chance of tough gluten formation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
For 10 years, my husband has been asking for lefse. This was my third try and FINALLY, I had success. Thank you for an easy to follow recipe that my husband says is exactly what he remembers his mother making! I gave him a much-desired telescope as a gift, but all he can talk about is the lefse!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I grew up in a Norwegian family where we ate lefse 3 times a day for the whole Christmas season! My mom & I make lefse every year. We're always frustrated with our recipe not rolling out properly. This is the best recipe we have used to date! Here are some tips we've learned through the years...hope this helps other's trying to make this yummy treat!!! - The flour amount is perfect!! But use LOTS of flour in a sifter to sprinkle on your pastry board, rolling pin and dough to prevent sticking. That extra flour used for rolling probably doubles the flour amount used. Too much flour makes the lefse rubbery. - Divide dough up into several logs rolled in wax paper and keep the extra's in the fridge. Cold dough is easier to work with. - Use a kitchen scale and weigh each hunk of dough before rolling. - Use a cloth cover over your pastry board and rolling pin to prevent dough from sticking.(can be purchased or make your own with unbleached cotton) Keep extra's on hand to swap if they get too moist (hand wash them...or use mild detergent & no fabric softener) - Have lots of patience, a friend to work with and cushy slippers to stand on! This full recipe with 2 people will take about 6 hrs & yield about 80-100 8" pieces if rolled 1/16" thin. (1/8" is too thick) - Practice! Your first few may not turn out so well. - BTW...A pizza stone makes a great lefse rolling board! - If you want to make lefse often...invest in a good corrogated rolling pin - it does make a difference! - Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I ended up having to add quite a bit more flour so they would roll without sticking. Otherwise, they tasted exactly as I remember them from when I was a child! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Focaccia di Recco (Italian Flatbread)

See how to make an amazing cheese-filled Italian flatbread.

Chef John's Flatbread

See how to turn water and flour into delicious, super-easy flatbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States