Norwegian Lefse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
This is the closest to my mom's recipe that I have seen. One suggestion I would make is if you are not eating it right away (we make 20 lbs. of potatos at a time and freeze it) cool your lefse between two towels, inside a plastic garbage bag. It will be moist and even the lefse that come off the grill a little crispy and dry will be soft and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
188 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
It just doesn't get any better than this. Jenn A. don't give up so easy. It takes some work to get good, but it is worth the time. D. Brockman you are the best!! This is by far the best lefse recipe around. THANKS SO MUCH *********
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
Yummy! After tackling this recipe, I decided to leave it up to the professionals though! Too much work for this lady, but now I can say I have made Lefse. My brother appreciated the gift (I made this for his birthday). My 4 year old enjoyed helping me with the project as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENN A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
This is the real deal. It is important to make sure the potatoes are cold before adding the flour and other ingredients and be sure to keep the uncooked lefsa cold before rolling out. I also use bread flour - the lefse turns out much more tender. Lefse can also be frozen too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
238 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Kenmore, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
Awesome recipe. If you had problems with it, just keep working at it.. Even the most experienced lefse maker will have problems now and again. It is a special art to be able to make lefse and this is the best recipe I have ever found. LOTS of flour on the pastry cloth at all times will make a big difference for that sticking... Thanks with all my heart D. Brockman*****you must be Norwegian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2004
These turned out great. I did have to add quite a bit of flour to keep them from sticking as I rolled them out but I think that is pretty typical for lefse. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
My husband said that this is pretty authentic. His grandmother's was a lot thinner, though. I was unable to make it thinner because the dough kept sticking to the pastry cloth. I will add more flour and hope they don't get too dry next time! It was a fun recipe to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texasglori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Richardson, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2002
This was the best lefse I have ever tried to make. The recipe was easy to work with. Thank you for putting this on here. I plan on using this recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
Perfect lefse! I've been looking for a good lefse recipe for a long time, and this one has the most traditional taste and texture. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2002
Thank you for sharing such a wonderful recipe. I had lost my recipe for Lefse when my mother past away. Now I will be able to carry on the tradition. Thank you!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Focaccia di Recco (Italian Flatbread)

See how to make an amazing cheese-filled Italian flatbread.

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States