Norwegian Lefse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I have never heard of peeling the potatoes before boiling, makes them too watery and sure don't roll only a walnut-sized ball at a time...more like a 2 1/2 to 3" size which will fill the lefse plate...making the baking time quicker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
WOW. I searched lefse not thinking I would find any results. This is fantastic. It's so close to my grandma's recipe and she came over from Norway. Of course her recipe was never written down. Only difference is we fill with butter and brown sugar then roll up. THANKS DEBBA and allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
This recipe was entered incorrectly. It is suppose to be 5 lbs of potatoes. Making lefse is not an easy chore. It does take some work. Don't give up. This is a wonderful recipe and will work for you!! Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This is an authentic recipe for lefse, very similar to my Norwegen Mother in Law's. The flour amount is correct, it is scant because it takes into account that quite a bit of extra flour is needed for rolling out the lefsa. My MIL's tip was not to add the flour all at once. Divide the potato mixture into enough for 10 lefsa per batch and add the proportionate flour to mix in just before you roll the dough. You won't have to add as much flour to the rolling surface and will have more tender lefse. Also..if your potatos are very moist, either dry them in the oven or cut back on the amount of cream you add to the dough. You don't want to develop too much of the gluten in the flour which makes the lefsa rubbery or tough. Lefsa it easiest to bake with two people; one to roll out the lefsa and one to mind the griddle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
This is a great recipe, just like my great grandma made it. We haven't had lefse since she passed away but this year I m bringing it for Easter. I cant wait to remember Easters past with my family over some hand made lefse. For the recipe, I made just 5 pounds of potatoes and adjusted the other ingredients accordingly. I also left some of the flour out as I floured the counter and the outside of each lefse ball before rolling it out. This made it a lot easier to prepare. I used a comal to cook it, which is a flat cast iron pan used to make tortillas. I also placed the balls in the fridge for about an hour before rolling them. They turned out great and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LauraJean
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This recipe is delicious! It tastes just like my grandma's that I have had every Christmas growing up. Now that I have my own family I wanted to start the tradition myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraJean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sammamish, Washington, USA
Living In: Lexington Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Favorite thing my mom makes on the holidays
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by petefiance2333
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This recipe sent me back to our own family lefse recipe with my tail between my legs. And I had the highest hopes it would turn out pillowy soft lefse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guttenberg, Iowa, USA
Living In: Independence, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Very much like the original lefse that I had tasted back long ago. Glad that I read the reviews and used only 5 lbs. of potatoes instead of 10 lbs. Turned on the Christmas music and started up the griddle. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Skiatook, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Vadnais Heights, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
Tastes just like my Great Aunt Vera used to make. MUST add at least 2 more cups of flour. I only used half of the potato mixture and froze the other half. I added more cream also. Make sure you refridgerate the "dough" before rolling. It won't work warm. So worth all the work!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Focaccia di Recco (Italian Flatbread)

See how to make an amazing cheese-filled Italian flatbread.

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States