Norwegian Hazelnut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 18, 2009
Fantastic tasting cake and the texture is great. It makes a great dessert to impress guests with. I was all out of cream and had no way to get some, so I made a chocolate pate, sprinkled icing sugar on the cake and served it with the chocolate. Was still delicious. Thanks for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hollykb
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
I had a bunch of hazelnuts I needed to do something with (sent hubby to the store for 1/2 cup of hazelnuts, he came back with 5 cups!). So I tried this recipe. I thought it was really good. I was a little nervous when it cooled and was hard on top, but it turned out great, and it was easy. I will definitely make this again. Next time I'll try some Frangelico in the glaze for a little more hazelnut kick. Since it is dense I made up the extra whip cream I had, and that went really well with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hollykb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Melissa
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This is ridiculously good. I whipped it up last-minute after being asked to bring a dessert to an impromptu going-away party, as these were the ingredients that I had on hand. I brought it to the party where it was devoured, and immediately made another one the following day that we DIDN'T need to share! My only adjustment was to add organic hazelnut extract to up the hazelnut flavor, about 2-3 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamlin, New York, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2008
If you like a dry cake (which my husband from Germany does like) then you will enjoy this one. I served it with whipped cream which we agreed helped it a lot. It was not my personal favorite but again my husband really enjoyed it b/c it was his taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
This cake is "so friggin' good" (to quote my husband). By far the best way I have found to use up the huge bagful of hazelnuts that my mother-in-law dropped off a few weeks ago. Although shelling the nuts takes a bit, the cake itself is quick and easy to throw together. I had wanted to make the glaze as well, but realized too late that I didn't have any cream, so instead I added a half cup of mini chocolate chips to the batter and left the finished cake plain. I did not have high expectations when I took it out of the oven because it looked really hard on the top, but after it cooled and we tasted it, it is sooooooooooo good. I cooked mine a half hour and having left it a little tiny bit underdone made it almost have a "brownie-like" consistency. Very good...one of the best cakes I've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SnooziQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windham, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
Eady a very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2004
Wow! I can not believe more members and visitors to allrecipes.com have not tried this keeper. I found it easy to make, great looking and great tasting. The chocolate glaze compliments this nicely nutty cake in such a pretty way that it makes it wonderful for entertaining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TLOZEC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Deal, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Zagreb, Zagreb, Croatia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
May have done something wrong but this cake was not good at all.....threw it away after serving 3 slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
I made this cake for my husband's birthday, and he rated it as better than German chocolate, which has been his favorite since I have known him! Thanks for the new and interesting recipe. I will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2001
One of the best, quickest and child friendliest recipes ever. My kids and me loved it, we just ate it in 2 hours, this says a lot, they usually dont like sweet stuff. The kids I babysit love it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIANA BOSKMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States