Norwegian Christmas Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
this was really good, great taste!! Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanja

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Very easy recipe, and came out quite tasty. I might try it without the bacon next time to make it healthier, and I'm pretty sure it would still be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
We loved this. I served it with Swedish meatballs and mashed potatoes with rutabaga.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This was so good with our ham. I used less sugar but otherwise followed the directions as written and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I don't want it to be quite so much like sauerkraut, so rather then shredding the cabbage, I cut it up into larger pieces (bite size or larger).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScorpioGG
Home Town: Zeeland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I didn't have any caraway seed but it still turned out delicious. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
I took ideas from a few of the previous reviews to make this cabbage and it was delicious! I used bacon pieces instead of strips, apple cider vinegar and Splenda instead of sugar (Splenda is somewhat sweeter than suger so be careful). I also threw in a vegetable bouillon cube and used less salt; instead of pouring salt on all layer, I salted 2 of 4 layers. I don't think you need as much flour as the recipe calls for; next time, I'll use half. Also, I could have thrown in another head of cabbage after the first head boiled down to even out the juice. Even though there are some things that I would do differently next time, this was still the best cabbage I've made and I've made a lot of cabbage! You can not go wrong with following the recipe verbatim.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
was easy and something different. My whole family liked it even the kids. I will definately make this one again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
This tastes alot like a cabbage dish my Hungarian grandparents make, however theirs has a orangey-red colouring. Perhaps they add paprika to it? I did make one mistake by using salt instead of the caraway seeds in the layering process. I did mix in a bunch of caraway seeds when I realized my error, and luckily the dish didn't turn out salty. I omitted the bacon just because I felt it wouldn't add all that much to the dish other than fat. The amount of sugar and vinegar in the recipe was just right to achieve the sweet-sour ratio. Another great way to make cabbage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2009
Great! My variation was Apple Cider Vinegar and Chinese Cabbage. I prefer the texture of Chinese cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Bratwurst and Red Cabbage

What's cooking in Poulsbo, Wash.? Uli's famous sausage with braised cabbage.

Fried Cabbage with Bacon, Onion, and Garlic

See how to make a flavorful cabbage and bacon side dish.

Southern Fried Cabbage

Bacon and onions add big flavor to a quick-and-easy Southern side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States