Norwegian Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
this recipe is awesome. i was very curious when i read, that you hard boil the eggs first. very light and flakey cookie. delicious! i sprinkled mine with sugar. they work perfectly with a cookie press.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2001
These cookies are great. I had to do a report on Norway and make a food that goes the country. Every one in my class loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
This is a recipe that I have been making at Holiday time for over 25 years, I use the star mold with the cookie press and drip red raspberry jam into the middle immediately when they come out of the oven, but any bright jam will do fine. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
Excellent Recipe. Easy to make. To make it worth my while using a cookie press, you should at least double if not triple the recipe!! Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
I've made these cookies for many years. What I do is I roll out the dough and use Christmas cookie cutters, then use the crystal sprinkles on them. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrsfly
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
This was my first time using a cookie press and this dough was excellent. I made 3 batches and added 1/4 cup of almond butter to one, 2 tsp of lemon zest to another, and 2 tbs of cocoa to the third. This recipe made equally excellent almond, lemon and cocoa shortbread. Tasty, easy to make and work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
It's REALLY important to press the cooked yolks through a fine sieve before beating them with the butter, etc. Never an egg-y taste or texture. I've been making these for over 40 years.I've used a cookie press,or made them into balls & rolled in sprinkles, or chop't nuts, or sugar, etc, or pressed the balls with my thumbprint and filled with jam, colored sprinkles, a choc. kiss, or Nutella. And a dab of food coloring paste will tint them well. These are wonderful, and you can make many variations. Also, the dough AND the cookies freeze very well; just don't pack them too tightly or they'll crumble (...but then you can use the cookie crumbs for a parfait, with ice cream or pudding! ) Don't miss out- these are the easiest and most popular cookies I make. Also, they're delicate enough to make for a shower, etc. I've made little blue and/or pink ones for showers, and small pink heart cookie press ones for Valentine's Day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2000
Good, quick cookie to satisfy the sweet tooth. We ate them them with chocolate pudding, but found that they were good just by themselves. It's definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2001
Very quick and easy to make. Doesn't use many ingredients so you really don't need to buy anything in advance. Everybody loves it, it could also be decorated with some kind of fruit to make it have more taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
so easy to make! i was surprised you had to hard boil the eggs, so it made me def want to try the recipe. they came out perfect, a lovely golden brown. i greased the cookie sheet with a layer of butter and sprinkled sugar on it. it tastes alot better than using pam or another type of spray greaser. mine only complaint is that they came out slightly dry. not terribly but i wonder what i could do next time to prevent the dryness! i suppose practice will make perfect! happy cooking xx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tikitorch1250

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States