Norwegian Almond Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
This was a hit with my family. The only change I made was adding almond extract to the cake and custard topping, and sprinkled toasted sliced almonds on top of the custard. Next time I will lower the temperature of the oven about 50 degrees and extend the cook time. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
The cake was perfect, but topping needed cornflower (otherwise it would run off the cake) WHY can anyone help please rosalind rrceramic@btinternet.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Excellent!!!! I am questioning the amount of butter to use for the custard. My custard was just a little too loose for me, but the taste was great. I did use a bain marie to make the custard. I think I will just use a saucepan next time. I used almond meal instead of chopped almonds. It gave the cake a smoother texture. I sifted the meal once and as well the confectioners' sugar. I also lowered the temp of my oven to 375 degrees F; 400 degrees F in my opinion is too hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koekje

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
What a nice surprise. Didn't have time to refrigerate the custard 24 hours and it was a little thin. But the thin sauce just made the awesome cake stand out more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Sadly, this cake didn't turn out really well for me - I followed the recipe, but the bottom was not cooked at all! I also thought that the cake was a little coarse - this may have been a mistake on my part, since I could have chopped my almonds more. Additionally, I think that there was way too much butter in the custard topping...if I were to make this again, I'd decrease the amount of butter in the topping, chop the almonds finer, and decrease the baking temperature while increasing the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This cake is AWESOME. I had high hopes for it after I sample the still warm custard topping but the finished product more that surpassed my expectations. This will definitely be among future holiday sweets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
This is SOO good! We were eating the custard topping the day before, immediatly after cooking. Everything was really great but the cake got very very slightly burned. 25 minutes is probably enough for my oven. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This was so tasty.....mmmmmmm...the only problem was the egg yolk mixture didn't thicken in a water bath so i poured everything into a pan and it turned out perfect!!!! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marmar

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
This is really good and has a lot of texture. Addictive and can't stop eating it. I kept it as one of my favorites and I will be making again, in fact I dream about it. We're not allergic to wheat or anything like gluten free and I made it for someone who is and ended up loving it so much and was surprised pleasantly. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
OMG! The smell in my kitchen is heavenly! I can't wait 'til it cools enough to eat! My husband and I taste-tested the cake batter and custard because we couldn't wait until the cake is assembled. I took the cake out of the oven after 22 minutes because it looked like it was close to burning. I think I'll turn down the oven temperature to 325 the next time I make this recipe. I used 2 cups of Bob's Red Mill almond flour / meal because I didn't have any almonds on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States