Northern Ontario Partridge (Ruffed Grouse) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Great Recipe, the only thing I did different was I used the same pan to roast. Very tasty and it was not dry at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
Great recipe for grouse, the grave was amazing. I made it exactly as recipe called for and it was perfect. Served with green beans with Leon zest and smashed red potatoes. Perfect meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rehoboth, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: North Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Excellent and super easy! I never cooked partridge before and I am no chef. But I liked the sound of this recipe, it's simplicity and the fact you get to cook with wine (which also I never done). First go at it and it was a success! You get enough info from the recipe to make it right. The only place I deviated was the flour for the gravy. I added more to make it the thicker consistency I wanted, but that is a personal preference. Highly recommended. Wanderingstar's grandmother was a genius.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
My husband tried this recipe with two grouse that he got with his bow, and oh my gosh!! it was amazing. It is by far the best way that we've ever had grouse. This scottish grandma knew what was up:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
What do you do with the garlic?? I found this too gamey tasting. If I ever try it again, I will use less bacon and grease and I will try the version of the poster who "bled" the breasts. Maybe that will help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Really loved this one! I saw some people had mentioned that it was a bit dry, but I didn't have that problem at all. I used a baking dish just large enough to accommodate four breast halves wrapped in bacon, so that when I added the liquid before baking, it nearly covered the breasts. The wine I used (for both cooking and serving!) was a nice Pinot Grigio from Barefoot, and we served it with a simple rice pilaf and steamed broccoli. I'm thinking a Sauvignon Blanc would go fine with this recipe as well, or you could even go with a red wine since this is a wild game bird recipe. Enjoy! Check out my wine and beer blogs at http://connoisseurscorner.blogspot.com and http://alemongery.blogspot.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
The flavor was good (gravy was amazing...made a roux with the bacon fat and flour, then added the pan juices), but the bird came out way too dry. I even shortened the cooking time to 35 min. Was probably done in 10 or 15... Will try other recipes with the next grouse we get, but may give this another shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MerrillCook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Got back from hunting near Kirkland Lake On. This recipe was good, but be careful not to use too much bacon, cause thats all I could taste. Stil need to figure out how to make the meat a bit more tender. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
This was AWSOME! I did this in a small crock pot, only change I made was to used an extra cup of chicken broth...Thank You for a Wonderful Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Wow! I remember partridge as tough and chewy. Not anymore! This was fantastic. Cooked mostly as stated. I didn't have chicken stock so I used water and it was fantastic. All the drippings from the birds and bacon make up for it. Used an oven proof skillet too, so didn't have to change pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Jean Silence

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Roasted Pork Loin

See how to make a succulent, fragrant pork roast with garlic and rosemary.

Crusted Pork Tenderloin

Watch how to prepare a succulent herb-crusted pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States