Northern Italian Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Northern Italian Beef Stew Haiku: "Won't make this again. Too much effort, costs too much. And tasted way 'meh.'" I was surprised that this could smell so outrageously good, and yet the taste was so bland. I followed the recipe exactly w/ the exception of using stew meat (that I'd rolled in s&p & flour b4 searing) and just couldn't get over that the richness (smell, and $$$-wise) of all of those ingredients coming together could result in such a yawn-worthy taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I made this dish dozen times for different family and each one of them love it!!! Made it in a conventional oven, Aga stove, electric stove, they all turn out GREAT!!! either I used cheap beef ribs, top round beef, stewing beef chunks (as long as you trimmed the fat or boil it for a few mins to lessen the fat. thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
This was a great recipe, flavorful and rich. Yes, it takes a bit of time, but well worth it. I cut the recipe in half, and there's enough for 6. Didn't have fresh mushrooms, but a 4 oz. can of mushroom pieces substituted well. Also added 1 1/2 cups fresh green beans, which went well with it. Served with the remaining wine from cooking (a Petite Sirah)...will definitely serve this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I enjoyed but I think traditional beef stew is the way to go for family. Used parsnips instead of carrot & turnip which is so good in a stew. Looking for winter veggies that my family does not quite grasp the "seasonal" thing but I'll keep trying! Great starting point!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Made this recipe with just a few subs. Did not use mushrooms as I was out! Subbed one can of diced tomatoes and it worked great! Loved the stew and would definitely make it again. Wife said to increase the amounts of seasoning and I would agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Made this up as posted - wonderful beef stew. It's a bit of work to get the prep done but the results are well worth the effort. I may have cut the beef and potatoes a bit smaller than 1 inch and with the 4 hour cooking time they were more than done, but still intact. I will keep closer to the 1 inch recommendation next time. One tip I saw somewhere that was helpful was to freeze the round steak for 15-30 minutes (not frozen hard) to make cutting it easier and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RetiredGuyCooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Lebanon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Big and hearty, with a beefy tomato taste. Rich and robust, satisfying, stick to your ribs good. Other than coating the meat in flour first, I made no changes to the recipe. I had my doubts that 4-6 hours simmering was necessary and even thought it might work against this dish, but I chose to follow the directions. After two hours I was ready to call it quits but let it go another hour – and shouldn’t have. By this time, three hours, the meat had broken down and started to fall apart into small pieces. I would have much preferred a stew with good-sized chunks of meat. Four stars rather than five for directions that essentially took this backward as it overcooked. After two hours it seemed to have reached a turning point and lost quality beyond that. An hour and a half to two hours would have resulted in tender meat that still held its shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Excellent combination/ratio of beef/red wine/tomato. The rich broth and mushrooms made this really special. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Photo by Bibi
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I used a little over 2 pounds of stew meat, and I cut back the mushrooms to 1/2 pound. Other than these changes, I used the ingredients suggested by the recipe author. My stew meat was tender after 3 hours on the stove top. I can't imagine that a better cut of meat would hold together for 6 hours in the pot, and the vegetables would be nearly dissolved if cooked that long. This makes a generous amount of stew, and I had to use a 6 quart dutch oven, since I do not have a skillet large enough to accommodate this. The stew as written nearly filled my pot. The stew liquid is well-flavored, though thin (I prefer a thicker, sauce consistency for stew), and not too strongly flavored with tomato. I only have one other tiny criticism. Herb leaves turn dark and unattractive in tomato based sauces. I think it would be more appetizing to tie them up in cheesecloth and remove before serving. I can well imagine this as a soup, if everything is cut into bite-sized pieces. If you wish to make soup, I would recommend adding the carrots, mushrooms and potatoes later in the process, so the smaller pieces will not cook too long. Overall, I give the recipe four stars, both for the flavor and for the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I really liked this!! I did as Sarah suggested and used stew meat! Finished up in the crock! 4 .5 hours on low! Will def make again! Only other change was in my spices..... Used an Italian blend in lieu of the above and added 2 bay leaves while in the crock!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Shade, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cherry Hill, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States