North Italian Meat Sauce (Ragu Bolognese) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
This is so rich and lovely and filling and beautiful! Just gorgeous gorgeous stuff. I make a HUGE potful and eat it for lunch and dinner for three days in a row. And when it's gone I want to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2003
If you're looking for a red sauce, this is not it! It's very rich, very very good. I pureed the chicken livers - but I don't know if they were necessary. A cuisinart definitely helps in the chopping! This isn't a saucy sauce, either, by the way, but I loved the depth of the flavor. This sauce freezes extremely well - I froze it with the mini rigatoni(single servings), and by microwaving it, the sauce soaked into the rigatoni (my favorite for bolognese sauces). My boyfriend asked if I kept the recipe and you can *BET* I will definitely now! He usually never utters more than 'yeah it's ok'. THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
This is a great Bolognese! I agree with a previous review that a Cuisinart really helps with the chopping. The last time I made this I adapted it to what I had around the house and my husband liked it even more. I used 6 slices of bacon instead of ham (getting the bacon mostly cooked before adding veggies, and not adding any butter or oil because of the bacon fat). I used Hot Italian Pork sausage instead of ground pork (caseings removed, you could even use veal like the traditional bolognese). For ease, in place of the white, stock, & paste, I used a 26 oz. jar of Classico Cabernet Marinara. I also cut down the cream to 1/2 cup and left out the nutmeg. It was so thick and so delicious! You can add a little more jar sauce to thin it out. YUMMY! I will definitely make this again. Recipes are best when you can toy with them a little and it still comes out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEBH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
This recipe is fantastic, even though I did change the quantities a little to suit our taste. I found it flavoursome, very easy to make and filling! My kids liked it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
I made a few alterations to this, but it was very yummy! (Just don't expect it to taste like a regular red sauce w/meat.) I used crumbled italian sausage instead of pork and added about 3/4 of a can of tomato sauce. Also, I used chicken stock and white zinfindel (which was what I had on hand). I think I used a little too much prosciutto so it's flavor was a little strong. I didn't have any cream so I used about 1/4 cup of Ranch Dressing and it was great! (Don't boil after adding dressing). It tamed the taste of the prosciutto and added just enough creaminess. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
I use prosicutto instead of ham, used 1/2 lb of Italian sausage for 1/2 lb of the pork, and slipped in some beef short ribs for some of the ground beef.. The secret to great Ragu sauce is low and slow; Don't rush the cooking process! A good food processor is necessary unless you love chopping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
Excellent recipe. I used all beef since I didnt have pork. Also used chicken broth instead of beef stock - well, it was not detectable. Also used milk instead of cream - nice creamy finish. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Congers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
I have made this recipe many times with great success. I usually follow the recipe amounts and procedures precisely, but after the first time around I leave out the chicken livers. It's just as good without them. I buy the beef and pork in whole chunks, trim them of fat, and chop them in my food processor so I can control the overall quality. I would recommend giving this sauce a long slow cook on top of the stove, a few hours brings out and melds all the flavors. Save the cream 'til the end, just before serving. The sauce stores well, but never lasts long in my refrigerator!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Hampstead, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
This was delicious. I used a whole can of tomato paste, added some garlic and omitted the chicken livers (yuck). This one is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Yummy as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States