North Italian Meat Sauce (Ragu Bolognese) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
This is very good and a very classic Bolognese sauce. Bolognese should be meat with tomato sauce - not tomato sauce with meat. The only thing with this sauce, is for a classic Bolognese, it should be diced pancetta instead of ham. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boujie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
This recipe is pretty easy and tastes great. My two friends who enjoyed it with me loved it! I served mine with linguine, but I would recommend ziti - this sauce is extremely thick and needs pasta that will hold it. Also, I am a salt fiend and this recipe doesn't really need any extra salt added - so taste it before seasoning. I tasted throughout the cooking process - don't leave out the chicken livers or nutmeg- they added an extra earthiness to the dish that pushed it over the top for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
This was good and definately reminded us of the amazing bolognese sauce we had in Bologna, Italy this summer. I made the mistake of omitting the livers and the sauce was missing a certain earthiness that we loved so much in Italy. I'll be making it again and including the livers and hopefully it will be just like we remember.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Velvety, rich and lovely...omitted the livers....had it with whole wheat penne. My family is Northern Italian and this brought all the flavors of childhood back to me. The nutmeg is the ingrediant that clinches it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
I ate this right out of the pot. I used red wine, added a french shallot and a couple of fresh seeded tomatoes. I also simmered the sauce with bay leaves. I like my pasta sauce sweet so I put some sugar as well. I used ground horsemeat, as it is leaner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Yummy as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
This was delicious. I used a whole can of tomato paste, added some garlic and omitted the chicken livers (yuck). This one is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Richboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
I have made this recipe many times with great success. I usually follow the recipe amounts and procedures precisely, but after the first time around I leave out the chicken livers. It's just as good without them. I buy the beef and pork in whole chunks, trim them of fat, and chop them in my food processor so I can control the overall quality. I would recommend giving this sauce a long slow cook on top of the stove, a few hours brings out and melds all the flavors. Save the cream 'til the end, just before serving. The sauce stores well, but never lasts long in my refrigerator!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Hampstead, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
Excellent recipe. I used all beef since I didnt have pork. Also used chicken broth instead of beef stock - well, it was not detectable. Also used milk instead of cream - nice creamy finish. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Congers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
I use prosicutto instead of ham, used 1/2 lb of Italian sausage for 1/2 lb of the pork, and slipped in some beef short ribs for some of the ground beef.. The secret to great Ragu sauce is low and slow; Don't rush the cooking process! A good food processor is necessary unless you love chopping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States