North Italian Meat Sauce (Ragu Bolognese) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Poway, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
I used this recipe as a outline for the bolognese sauce and it came out FANTASTIC! I did not use the chicken livers or the beef stock. I did use a beef,pork and veal mixture that the sell in the grocery store instead of just ground beef. I used 2 8oz cans of tomato sauce and one can of tomato paste. It had great flavor. I used bacon instead of ham as well. My husband said I can make this once a week he loved it. I used Cavatelli as the pasta and it was a delicious meal!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniela Delgado

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Great tasting sauce! I left out the chicken livers so I increased the amount of ground beef and ground pork to make up for it. I used a whole small can of tomato paste. The longer this simmers, the better and adding the cream and nutmeg at the end really does make a difference. I served it over linguine and boy was it delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Soooo delicious! Served on top of homemade pasta with garlic bread and salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paterson, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clifton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Very yummy, very meaty, great leftovers. Don't expect it to be saucy - my husband wanted more red sauce. It went very well with whole wheat spaghetti and a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Very good recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Holy this is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
This was delicious! My boyfriend who is actually from Northern Italy loved it. I did a few things different to suit our taste but overall followed the recipe. I used ground turkey and did not have liver or cream. I was afraid it might be too dry so I added 2/3 cup of homemade tomato sauce instead of tomato paste. Sooo yummy!Thank you for sharing the recipe~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Feifei

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
This is very good and a very classic Bolognese sauce. Bolognese should be meat with tomato sauce - not tomato sauce with meat. The only thing with this sauce, is for a classic Bolognese, it should be diced pancetta instead of ham. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boujie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
This recipe is pretty easy and tastes great. My two friends who enjoyed it with me loved it! I served mine with linguine, but I would recommend ziti - this sauce is extremely thick and needs pasta that will hold it. Also, I am a salt fiend and this recipe doesn't really need any extra salt added - so taste it before seasoning. I tasted throughout the cooking process - don't leave out the chicken livers or nutmeg- they added an extra earthiness to the dish that pushed it over the top for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Bolognese Sauce

A thick, chunky pasta sauce with beef, pork, veggies, and tons of flavor.

Fresh Pasta with Bolognese Sauce

See how to make Chef Johnson’s homemade noodles and rich Bolognese sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States