North German Gruenkohl (Kale) and Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I've used this recipe three times because I loved it so much. Last time I accidentally bought mustard greens instead of kale but it tasted every bit as delicious! Fantastic, and delicious with the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I didn't have any onions or beef bouillon and didn't want to run to the store, so sub'd some beef onion soup mix. It turned out great. I also only used kielbasa, but other than that followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Absolut lecker!!Yum, yum in German. A variation on traditional German Winter "greens" (in Hessen, we make ours much the same, but with smoked hocks and no bacon). I made this with the bacon and we LOVED it, so it's going in my pot of this warming, filling Winter dish from now on. Oh, use thick sliced bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HoneyTiger3m

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Just like my mother used to make it and she is from Wennebostel/Wedemark. Thanks for the this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Ser gut! This was exactly what the doctor ordered on our first frigid night of the winter season. Filling, hearty and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monty's Momma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
So delicious! I made a few tweaks though. I added fresh chopped garlic cloves(3). Cut up the bacon with an added 4th strip. Used spicy mustard. Skipped the ham because we didn't have any unfortunately. Instead of kielbasa I cut 4 Italian w/ mozzarella cheese sausages into it. My family loved it! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea Anna B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niland, California, USA
Living In: Indio, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
This recipe far exceeded my expectations! I thought it sounded good and seemed like a good way to use up some ingredients I happened to have. The end result was much better than I expected. I made a few minor changes. I added two cloves minced garlic with the onion and I used a whole onion. as several other reviewers suggested. I also added a few fennel seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA
Living In: Douglas, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I don't eat pork so I swapped out the bacon for turkey bacon (6 strips) but I added some olive oil to replace the bacon fat, I omitted the ham and used chicken sausage. Results? Amazing!!! If you want to mix things up this is a fun way to alter the original recipe (and possible make it healthier)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
I love German dishes and this one has great flavor! I used just local kielbasa sausage instead of bacon, ham & kielbasa - our local farmer's market kielbasa is the best around and packs more then enough flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynJudd
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I was surprised that someone rated this one star, but then saw the great write up on it and realized there was a mistake. This really is very good and close to what is made in Germany. My mother in-law is German and makes it all the time. I just figured out how to do it with readily available US ingredients. Can't wait for the cold winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynJudd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Enjoy the bold, delicious flavors of smoked sausage and peppers.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States