North German Gruenkohl (Kale) and Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Absolut lecker!!Yum, yum in German. A variation on traditional German Winter "greens" (in Hessen, we make ours much the same, but with smoked hocks and no bacon). I made this with the bacon and we LOVED it, so it's going in my pot of this warming, filling Winter dish from now on. Oh, use thick sliced bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HoneyTiger3m

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Absolutely delicious! My German husband and his German mother Loved this! It has become a family favorite! I use a whole onion and add 2 cloves of garlic. Comes out perfect! I also serve with a warm loaf of french bread or sourdough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
This recipe far exceeded my expectations! I thought it sounded good and seemed like a good way to use up some ingredients I happened to have. The end result was much better than I expected. I made a few minor changes. I added two cloves minced garlic with the onion and I used a whole onion. as several other reviewers suggested. I also added a few fennel seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA
Living In: Douglas, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
We enjoyed this. My husband isn't a huge fan of kielbasa, but had seconds of this and said he would eat it again. I served it over boiled red potatoes. Also, did add ham because I didn't have any, but I can see how it would be tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSPARKERII

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dunedin, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Ser gut! This was exactly what the doctor ordered on our first frigid night of the winter season. Filling, hearty and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monty's Momma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
So delicious! I made a few tweaks though. I added fresh chopped garlic cloves(3). Cut up the bacon with an added 4th strip. Used spicy mustard. Skipped the ham because we didn't have any unfortunately. Instead of kielbasa I cut 4 Italian w/ mozzarella cheese sausages into it. My family loved it! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea Anna B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niland, California, USA
Living In: Indio, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Just like my mother used to make it and she is from Wennebostel/Wedemark. Thanks for the this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
Hi I am soooo happy to find this recipe but I am born in the Ammerland in germany which is ground zero for gruehnkohl.The basic recipe is ok. But first at all use smoked pork belly instead of cooked ham and please please NO kielbasa.Instead check if you can find a german butcher who can provide you with PINKEL WURST.Thats the stuff that has to go in there.Next you can use Nutmeg but allspice is better and more onion ( 3 - 4 )and you have to cook it for hours.The longer the better.( 2 - 3 hours)Last but not least you can use kale out of the can or glass as long as it is unseasoned.Thats it.Enjoy your Gruehnkohl
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I didn't have any onions or beef bouillon and didn't want to run to the store, so sub'd some beef onion soup mix. It turned out great. I also only used kielbasa, but other than that followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynJudd
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I was surprised that someone rated this one star, but then saw the great write up on it and realized there was a mistake. This really is very good and close to what is made in Germany. My mother in-law is German and makes it all the time. I just figured out how to do it with readily available US ingredients. Can't wait for the cold winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynJudd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States