North Carolina-Style Pulled Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Mouth-watering
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
This was sooooo good. My extra-picky room-mate actually asked me to make it again about two weeks after the first time. Second time around, I got lazy and used bottled barbecue sauce. I'm NEVER going to do that again, as it doesn't come close to the awesomeness of the sauce in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
We lived in Suffolk, VA when my husband was in the Navy and pulled pork sandwiches with cole slaw were everywhere. Back here in Pa - they have no clue what BBQ pork is. Found this recipie and made it for our VFW (using 4 six pound rump roasts) and everyone raved. This is the only recipe you will ever need for pulled pork. Don't forget to top your sandwich with good coleslaw - you'll never want it any other way. UPDATE: just finished making this again using leftover pork roast and the sauce is amazing! Upset that some reviewers cut vinegar/pepper flakes and others added bottled sauce. This is true Southern pulled pork and it is perfect. If you want BBQ pork with a thick sauce (like BBQ ham sandwiches) like they serve up north this is not the recipe for you. Please don't rate it badly simply because you are not familiar with Southern pulled pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Industry, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
the sauce was way too vinegary. i even cut the vinegar in half after reading other reviews, but it was still way too overpowering! i ended up draining most of the sauce off and pouring bottled barbecue sauce over the meat to hide the strong vinegar flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisalu1913

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I used a 8lb pork shoulder, just because it was on sale. I followed the recipe and it was It was delicious! The next time I will used a pork butt, couldn't pull the pork shoulder meat so I had to mince it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I am reviewing this as of now for the sauce only. It's delicious! I used a little less vinegar (b/c I ran out) and less red pepper for the kids. All in all very good and next time, I will try prepping the pork with all the seasonings (although I will still cook it in the slow cooker). Edited: Did the spice rub on the pork and let sit overnight...made sauce as written and it's really spicy! Next time will cut the crushed red pepper in half at least and maybe use just a touch less vinegar, 1 and 3/4 cup perhaps. Edited again: Will use about 1/2 the white pepper next time too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
I used a 9lb pork shoulder roast. I didn't marinate overnight, instead I used the exact ingredients and rubbed the pork just before cooking. I cooked on grill with hickory wood chips for smoke flavor. I placed on upper level and cooked for 1 1\2 hrs with low fire. Then I wrapped in foil (double layers) tightly. I placed on upper level of grill again and cooked for 6 hrs on low. It came out wonderful and the whole neighborhood smelled wonderful. My disappointment was with the sauce. I did as other reviewers have stated and cut vinegar in half, using 1 cup. Still it had a very strong vinegar flavor. I have 5 people in family. Three liked it, two did not. That is why the 3 stars. I will use recipe again for the rub mixture, but will try different recipe for sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
This is by far the best pulled pork that we have ever tried. I cooked mine in the crock pot on low for 6 hours (didn't have any charcoal). Then shredded the meat and put back in the pot on low for a couple hours with the sauce. I would like to try it on the grill next time. Very moist and delicious. Wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This was really good! I wish that I had a smoker to smoke it in but for home cooked bbq it was good! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
This is FANTASTIC!!!I've spent years perfecting a sweet bbq sauce and grew up on vinegar based.I skoke my pork butts for 12-14 hrs at 230 degrees until internal temp. reaches 185 degrees.take pork off and let cool enough to pull.I boil sauce with only 2 teas. red pepper and add a 1 tbl butter and a squirt of lemon juice.,(I think it's too spicy for the kids otherwise and boiling really blends the flavors).After sauce boils and pork is pulled I coat the pork with the sauce.This is now a must have when we have a family get together.Thank You for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cornfed77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Chef John's Pulled Pork BBQ

Turn pork shoulder into delicious shredded BBQ pork for sandwiches.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States