North Carolina-Style Pulled Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
This is a really delicious recipe. I am from the North, so I'm used to BBQ sauce in my BBQ. When i first moved to NC I totally didn't expect the vinegar based BBQ that I was served. It really grew on me though. Now that I am pregnant I have been craving it and decided to give it a shot using this recipe. I did cook in my slow cooker, but other than that i followed the ingredient list. I cooked it in the slow cooker on high for 2 hours and then reduced it to low for another 6 hours. The result was delicious and I have never used another recipe for home made pulled pork since.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Very good, too spicy for us though. Next time less red-pepper! I slow cooked a 2 lb pork roast in the slow cooker with salt, pepper, garlic, and some gourmet burger spice and then used root beer to cover it with. Slow cooked for 6 hours, then followed the last step, except put it with the marinade in the oven for another hour. Came out great! We added some coleslaw to it to calm the spicy taste down a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Spice was good, but cooking/smoking a butt to 160 is ridiculous. Yes, that is what you need to cook pork to for it to be done, but to fully tenderize and dissolve all the tendons and tissues, your looking at closer to 210-220 dgrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by irishyee
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This is the bomb!!! Mine doesn't look as tomato-y as the picture, I used all the same ingredients except that I used liquid smoke 1-1.5 T since I don't have a smoker. I trimmed the large parts of the fat before doing the rub. As recipe says, refrigerated overnight. I also mixed ingredients for sauce and refrigerated overnight. Roasted in oven to appropriate T. (Check meat T after 1 hr, so as not to overcook) Allowed pork to cool before pulling the pork, yes tedious, but not as difficult as anticipated (pulled easily using 2 forks). Placed in large roasting pan, poured on the sauce. Covered loosely with foil and placed on oven briefly at 400 to heat thoroughly before lowering heat to 300. Slow cooked in oven for 2 hrs, stirring twice. Delicious, and easy. Living in Virginia Beach andChesapeake area (on the NC line) this was easily found, even in our workplace cafeteria. Moving back North, not at all, after almost 7 years, I think this is a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irishyee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
My guests loved this different take (in this area, at least) on pulled pork! I cooked it in the crockpot like other reviewers and then added the sauce when it was almost totally shreddable and cooked it in the oven in a broiling pan for the last hour. Fabulous. I used smoked paprika and liquid smoke while it was cooking. I couldn't find hot or mild paprika (just plain old paprika). Anyway, it was amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Thank you, Thank you....I have been trying various recipes for 6 years to try and get this taste down. You have made it possible for me to finally get it right. I tweaked a bit, not quite so hot and a little more sugar a wee bit less ketchup, but, stiring and tasting, I finally got it perfect with your recipe. Tons of thanks to you. My husband who does not like BBQ, loved this. The rub is perfect too. Hugs from an old lady to you Doug.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
I halved this recipe, and smoked the pork for 2 hours without heat. I cooked it at about 300 degrees, covered, in the oven for about 4-1/2 hours with a little water and vinegar. The meat practically fell apart on its own, and the wonderful scent of the meat tortured my husband all day, who couldn't wait for dinner! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
made the vinegar sauce for some left over chicken drumsticks I'd bbq'd. Simply shredded the meat and placed in the sauce and it was delicious. I didn't have cider vinegar so used 1/2 red wine vinegar and 1/2 balsamic vinegar. It worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Gatineau, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
160 degrees is way too low for pork shoulder, as is the 6 hour cooking time. The meat is barely in the plateau at 160, and it needs to remain there for at least 2 to 4 hours to break down the connective tissues in this cut of meat. I cook my shoulders at about 225 degrees on my wood smoker and it always takes about 20 hours or so to get to 195 degrees internal, which is the temp the meat should reach before you pull it. Even if you want sliced shoulder (KC style), it needs to get to at least 175 to 180 before pulling it from your cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I have made variations of this recipe many times and have found that the best way to obtain the real smoked/BBQ flavor using a Weber type grill is to BBQ indirectly as stated for about 2 hours, then cover with foil and transfer to a 300deg oven for 2 more hours or into the crockpot for 4-6 hours. This way the meat retains all it's external smokey goodness, doesn't dry out at the surface and still "falls off the bone" as advertized when you're ready to "pull". As for the sauce, NC BBQ is famous for it's thin, vinegary sauce which absorbes directly and totally into the pulled meat, but adding more sugar or any other favorite ingredient is always up to the cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Chef John's Pulled Pork BBQ

Turn pork shoulder into delicious shredded BBQ pork for sandwiches.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States