North Carolina-Style Pulled Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Delicious! We have an electric smoker and smoked a 9 lb picnic pork shoulder at 225 degrees for 6 hours (until internal temp reached 160 degrees). After 5 hours of smoking, we took it out, put it in foil and put it back in the smoker for an hour. Don't forget to take off the fatty skin before putting the rub on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Just OK---wouldn't make again. Much better recipes out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kirklandcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
My family loved this. I cooked it in the slow cooker with liquid smoke as suggested by others. After 8 hours it was pull apart tender. I used less vinegar in the sauce and more tomato ketchup as my kids prefer food on the sweeter side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
I made this the 1st time in July 2010...love, love, loved it! Just the NC style I was introduced to years ago and wanted to re-visit it. When I made it in July, I had to take some serious short-cuts, because I just stumbled upon this recipe, the same day I decided to prepare a 'que'. I only had the dry rub on for maybe a an hour or two, slow-cooked in oven (used liquid smoke), did the sauce and it was still amazing! I'm now preparing it for the 2nd time...already knew what I wanted to do with pork butt shoulder when I saw it on sale! So this time, I've got the dry rub on it....the night before I'm going to make it, again in a 'slow oven' and can't wait for the results! Btw, I use Bragg's raw, unfiltered apple cider vinegar, it's the one with the "Mother" (it's cloudy) - makes a world of difference, and has great health benefits, as well. The taste isn't as stringent or as "vinegary" as regular cider vinegar. I love it in the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
honestly should even have used the sauce and just used sweet baby rays. the sauce destroyed the pulled pork. i had some of the pork before i sauced it and it was EXCELLENT!!! after i added the sauce it was to much vinegar like everyone else said, and i even took out 1 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rose City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Diamondhead, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
it is a lot of work & the meat was a bit on the spicy side but all in all IT was GREAT!! this was my first time doing this & it turned out fantact!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
The meet turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
I made this using exact ingredients only I didn't have hot paprika so I just added some cayenne pepper, not much though to cut down on the spice. I doubled the sauce portion, as I know that NC style is more dry. It turned out to be the perfect amount, and it still wasn't as saucy as the picture. I didn't smoke it, cooked it stove top in a dutch oven covered, simmering about 4 hours. The first hour in water, saved some water for the sauce and sliced the meat. Then simmered the remaining time in the sauce until easily shredded with a fork, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
This is a really delicious recipe. I am from the North, so I'm used to BBQ sauce in my BBQ. When i first moved to NC I totally didn't expect the vinegar based BBQ that I was served. It really grew on me though. Now that I am pregnant I have been craving it and decided to give it a shot using this recipe. I did cook in my slow cooker, but other than that i followed the ingredient list. I cooked it in the slow cooker on high for 2 hours and then reduced it to low for another 6 hours. The result was delicious and I have never used another recipe for home made pulled pork since.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Very good, too spicy for us though. Next time less red-pepper! I slow cooked a 2 lb pork roast in the slow cooker with salt, pepper, garlic, and some gourmet burger spice and then used root beer to cover it with. Slow cooked for 6 hours, then followed the last step, except put it with the marinade in the oven for another hour. Came out great! We added some coleslaw to it to calm the spicy taste down a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Chef John's Pulled Pork BBQ

Turn pork shoulder into delicious shredded BBQ pork for sandwiches.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States