North Carolina-Style Pulled Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
The rub sounds good, however, the temperature you should reach is not nearly hot enough for the pork to have all the connective tissues broken down. I've removed a shoulder from the grill @ this temp and it tasted good, but was not "ready." 190 is pretty much the minimum temp to reach internally. This could take upwards of 12 hours. I've smoked several shoulders recently, on a Weber 22.5" Kettle, indirect heat. Took 13 hours. The result was pork that didn't need a fork to pull it, the pressure of my hands caused it to simply flatten. Soaking chips and putting on your coals, you risk putting out the coals. Better to use some fist size chunks of wood (4-5) and call it good. Once the meat reaches 140F internal, it will not take any additional smoke flavor. From that point on, you just need to keep cooking. I do my brisket in the same manor. Once you reach 190F, pull it from the grill, double wrap in heavy duty foil, put into an empty cooler, and let it rest for 2-4 hours. It will continue to cook and tenderize. The results are nothing less than awesome! On the cider vinegar, if you want real zing, make sure you use an unfiltered cider vinegar. I couldn't believe the difference in taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bubbaopus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anacortes, Washington, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
This has to be some of the best pulled pork I have ever had!! The rub recipe is unique and adds lots of flavor. I made this recipe in a roaster on my gas grill. I used a smoker box with hickory chips inside as well. I cooked a 9.1 lbs shoulder roast @ 375 degrees and I hit my desired internal temp at 168 f. It only took me 4.5 Hours to cook. The only thing that I changed in this recipe was the sauce at the end. I used only half the vinegar which was still plenty, doubled the brown sugar and put in about a 1/4 cup of honey as well. LOVED IT!!!!! Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steve379

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madelia, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fairmont, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
After reading so many negative reviews of the vinegar sauce, the first time I tried this recipe, I followed the rub part exactly and then just added 1/2 cup cider vinegar and some Sweet Baby Ray's. The Baby Ray's killed all that great, spicy flavor. I ended up having to go back and add more vinegar, flakes, pepper, basically, I should have just gone with the original recipe! The second time, I went with the original recipe (using only 1 cup of vinegar) and it was excellent, just not quite saucy enough. I added half a bottle of BBQ sauce (Diana's Southern Smokehouse BBQ) and it was delicious. I'm doing this pulled pork again (already rubbed and waiting in the fridge for tomorrow.) The rub is perfect! I put liquid smoke all over the pork and double the amount of rub because I really like to get it into every nook and cranny. I make it in a crock pot and it takes about 7 hours on low setting. Maybe 2 cups of vinegar is a little much, but try 1 cup, it does not disappoint and blends seamlessly with the rub! I also do about 2 tsp. crushed red pepper flakes but I have kids who wouldn't tolerate the maximum spice. Excellent, excellent recipe! Thanks for sharing, Doug!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
After all the work of cook'n and watch'n fireworks, finally home for the pork! Bummed,the sauce -WAAAYYY-to much vinegar...I added almost cup of Karo let it sit overnight and choked it down with bun,melted cheese and coleslaw to get kids to eat, hubby refused. Tasted great before the sauce though. Signed by the Northwest folk....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Okay all y'all who reviewed this recipe without using a smoker or grill: You are SERIOUSLY MISSING OUT. Your choice, but trust me when I say that your crock pot cannot in any way shape or form recreate the flavor of a big a$$ butt, rubbed with spices and smoked for 12 hours over slow heat for tenderness. Yes, use the rub, it ROCKS. But USE A SMOKER too. Once you do, you'll NEVER go back- this recipe will make you FAMOUS. If you don't think you have time to babysit a smoker on the day of your event, then smoke in advance, pull the pork and freeze it. You can reheat it in the crock pot on the day of your party. In fact, do what we did and smoke 4 butts at a time, pull and freeze so you have real mouth watering BBQ when you want it. Another reviewer said if you don't like NC BBQ- vinegar style, then don't try this recipe. I have a different opinion. DO try the recipe- do everything it says except make the vinegar sauce. Instead use your own favorite sweet sauce. We are partial to NC brand "Bone Suckin' Sauce" or Honey Mustard BBQ sauce. That bein' said, There ain't no need fo' a ton of sauce to cover up the pure, incredible flavor of the pulled pork 'cause it shines on its own. We made 2 butts and 2 shoulder roasts for our son's graduation party and people just inhaled the stuff. Well worth the 12 hour smoke time... That's how we do it in Southern Virginia... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goodfood4ursoul

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
This was sooo good. I used 1/2 the vinagar that was suggested and cooked it in the oven on low heat. Amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
This is our FAVORITE recipe! We smoke the pork and WOW! Everyone who dines with us when we make this goes crazy. I have given the recipe to alot of people - Doug, You ROCK!. Allrecipes, thanks for having the email feature~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Valley, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Simply delicious. This is my go-to recipe for larger group parties during the summer months. I followed some previous recommendations for making it in the slow cooker and adding liquid smoke. Comes out perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Great recipe!! However, I use Apple wood plus 1 small piece of Hickory for smoking. It makes a milder taste of smoke but great flavor. I use the same rub recipe for Baby Back ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
Best recipe I have found so far. But I'm still looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Chef John's Pulled Pork BBQ

Turn pork shoulder into delicious shredded BBQ pork for sandwiches.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States