North Carolina-Style Pulled Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
This is worth the planning it takes. I've made it for 70 and I've made it for 20, and everyone raves about it. Take the suggestion others made and serve it with creamy coleslaw (At the party for 70 we put out a little sign suggesting to put the slaw on their sandwich- we don't live in North Carolina!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
We smoke massive amounts of pork and then freeze it in portioned bags. I made just the sauce last night. It was great. Cut the serving size to 6 but it did need a little more sugar. My honey loved it. He thinks we should add some chopped jalapeno next time. I followed some suggestions and made a coleslaw with some of the sauce. Perfect together. So much better than sweet sticky stuff. Thanks for the great suggestions. ( I agree you can't make bbq without a smoker. )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FISHGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Encampment, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Wow this is the real stuff. Lexington style BBQ. My husbands grandparents live in Lexington, NC and we eat the BBQ quite often. This is really close to the real stuff, only it is a bit too spicy for us, I think next time I will leave out some of the red pepper flakes. And if you want the real NC style BBQ, use the full amount of vinegar, I did and it is great. Made this with some of the BBQ "red" slaw and my husband loved it. Also, I did mine in the slow cooker and added 1 and 1/2 Tbsp. of liquid smoke, turned out great. Thanks for a great recipe, now we can enjoy real NC BBQ without the 2 hour drive!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rutherfordton, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Forest City, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Excellent! Not quite a pig-pickin' but close enough for this misplaced Southern gal. This is one of my specials for pot lucks, and it is gone without a trace every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This was just okay. I did follow the suggestions of others by using 1c. of Cider Vinegar and 1c of B. sugar but it still was a bit spicy/vinegary. I will stick to my normal recipe which involves slow cooking it in rootbeer, draining and then adding good ol' bbq sauce. That's our family's fave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
For the original recipe I give it only one star. Reading the reviews most ppl are making huge changes to this. I like to try the original first if it is rated so high. I wonder if the recipe is correct.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
I took a previous reviewer's suggestion to reduce the vinegar to 1 cup and increase the brown sugar to 1 cup and now it's a family favorite!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Belford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
This was an awesome rub. I cooked 2 sholders in my smoker and then used the Bourbon Whiskey bbq on this site. The 2 meshed...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
This recipe was a hit with my family. It was my first time making pulled pork and I highly recommend this recipe. I made it in the crockpot. The rub gave the meat so much flavor. I cut down the vinegar for the sauce after reading the reviews and added more brown sugar and some molasses instead. It was really the best pulled pork I have had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
My husband is from east carolina. This is close. Save yourself the trouble and order wells barbeque sauce off their web site hog heaven if you are particular on authentic sauce. That is the true sauce. Nice rub recommendation and it worked well. Thanks for teaching a Floridian how to make ECU hubby happy :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Chef John's Pulled Pork BBQ

Turn pork shoulder into delicious shredded BBQ pork for sandwiches.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States