Normal Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
There is nothing "normal" about this chicken! Amazing. I added 1/2 cup brown sugar as recommended and am SO glad I did. My presentation turned out beautiful. Rice, broccoli, chicken right on top, drizzled with the sauce... When my husband bit into his chicken all he could say was "Wow"! He wasn't expecting so much flavor, and neither was I. This ones a keeper. For kicks I made egg drop soup to make this more of a chinese type meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMCLEOD08

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
I have been using this recipe for years, the only difference is I use boneless skinless chicken brest, and I add at least 1 Cup of BROWN SUGAR to the recipe as it is cooking, this makes it EXTRA YUMMY!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
This was a great chicken recipe. Very easy and will make again! I followed what others had written and browned the chicken in about 1T Olive oil first. I also decreased the soy sauce to 2T, added 1T of rice wine vin., 1T chopped garlic and 1T onion powder. I made everything on the stove top. After chicken browned, I turned the heat to med., added sauce ingr. and covered the pot. I cooked the bone-in chicken pieces for approx. 20 min., turning chicken a couple of times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
Easy and delicious, I added 1 cup of brown sugar and served the sauce over rice and broccoli everyone loved it!! I will definitely be making this one again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MaryTee
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
Update: This is a very good base recipe. However, I was scared that it would lack the flavor I was looking for, so I tweaked it a bit. First, I seasoned the split breasts with garlic powder, ground ginger powder, kosher salt, and black pepper. For the marinade I used 4 TB of soy sauce, 2 TB of Worcestershire sauce, 1/4 cup of brown sugar, 2 fresh garlic cloves (grated), a small piece of fresh ginger (also grated), and topped the dish with fresh pineapple (cubed). OMG, talk about good! The gravy that was made from this dish was delicious with white rice! Made a yummy Asian-style dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryTee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
The best recipe I know of with this number of ingredients -- so simple, in fact, that I've memorized it for those occasions when I have to cook and I have no access to a recipe book/file/website. I add sliced carrot and parsnips, and they come out perfectly in the time the chicken takes to bake. Thanks for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
Wonderful, wonderful recipe. So easy, so good. I did increase each sauce by 1 tablespoon and added approximately 1/4 of brown sugar. This made a wonderful au jus. Definitely a part of my cooking rotation. My husband absolutely raved and so did I. Thanks for offering such a simple, yet tasty dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette H.
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
I used to make this all the time, only without the worcestershire sauce, and I have to say, this recipe is much tastier then mine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
After tweaking to our taste this was very good. I substituted A-1 steak sauce for the Worcestershire, I do that for everything calling for Worcestershire because the idea of eating anchovies or anything with anchovies in it absolutely disgusts me and I find the steak sauce to be the perfect substitute. Also I added 1/4 tsp of black pepper, 1 tsp garlic powder and 1/2 tsp onion powder and 1 Tb molasses. Like some others I used thighs 2 for 1 instead of breasts because I just like dark meat better. The whole thing was quick and easy and while the chicken cooked I made rice and broccoli to go with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laney
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
I loved this!! I also added some garlic salt as well as brown sugar!! will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laney

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States