Nordy Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
I love this recipe. It is easy and delicious. I also am so glad I found it on All Recipes. I had this recipe from the 80s but only had the ingredients on my personal recipe card. With the help of All Recpes I was able to make it for a group of friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
Maybe I shouldn't rate this one. I have never had a Nordy bar before, so didn't have any preconceptions. I tried it because it used some of the ingredients I wanted to use - and i love butterscotch. But the butterscotch flavor was lost somehow, which is strange, since the only thing that could have overcome it was the marshmallows...anyway, despite my disappointment, the pan disappeared in very short order. It was certainly a viable cookie bar, just not what I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
This was soooo goood! I served it for my graduation party and it was gone in literally seconds!! Next time I will make a bigger batch. I actually messed up on this recipe... I added the chocolate chips before the batter was comepletely cooled and the chocolate melted into the batter! But I think it really added to the taste anyway. I also didn't have any walnuts on hand, so I made mine with pecans. Thanks so much for the recipe I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
These are FANTASTIC! The only warning I can really give is that they are V-E-R-Y rich! When I make them again, I will probably cut them into small bite-size squares and serve them on a platter because a whole "brownie" size piece was almost too much to eat @ once because of the richness. Awesome bars and incredibly easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Bovenkamp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2006
I really hated these bars. They had no substance, just sugar. They were harden and were absolutely terrible. I will never make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garnerville, New York, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
I wasn't too sure about these when I saw the batter. (It almost reminded me of blended yams with marshmallows sticking out all over). After baking, they looked better, and tasted amazing!! I didn't use any nuts, and more like 1 cup marshmallows and choc chips...as well as only one bag of butterscotch chips. I think anymore would be way too sweet to handle. I will be keeping this recipes with my alterations and definitely making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
Simple to make and always a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
I printed this recipe out probably a year ago and finally got around to trying it. I used only 1 cup of chips, because I had "double chocolate" chips which are very rich, and I used pecans instead of walnuts. The batter looked very strange going into the baking dish. And I have to admit was even stranger looking after baking for 25 mins. I wasn't sure if it was "done", but pulled it out in fear of overbaking it. For all it's strangeness, I was pleasantly surprised. It had a good taste and gooey texture that I love. You definitely have to wait for it to completely cool because they set up so much better. While it's not one of my all time favorite recipes, it's a definite keeper. And something different for a change of pace from the typical cookie or brownie. Thanks Cathy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
These are truly amazing. If you have a party to go to, BRING THESE! You will leave with many new friends! After I made these with my little brother, we wanted to make more to keep at home and not bring to the party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
This was very good and certainly worth baking. I used 1 package of butterscotch chips and that was sufficient. It is a good "blonde brownie" type recipe that I will use again. I would think if chocolate chips were substituted as suggested by some other reviewers, it would be more like a traditional brownie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States