Nora's Special Chocolate Chip Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2004
I took to heart what some were saying about the dryness and taste and I tweaked the recipe a little also. I did: 2 eggs 1 cup milk 1 cup chocolate morsals 3/4 cup sugar 1/4 cup brown sugar 1/4 cup oil 1/4 tsp cinnamon and left all the other ingredients the same. The morsals did not sink to the bottom. The muffins were moist. The cinnamon was just an extra hint of flavor. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
I added a little more milk and oil and they were GREAt!!! Thanks Jenn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RYANJENN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lachute, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
These were not good at all - even with the alterations that were suggested. My daughter had been bugging me to make choc chip muffins for months - and she took a bite of one muffin and wouldn't touch the rest. Very disappointing in both taste and texture. Sorry - I usually try to come up with something nice to say, but I can't with this recipe. My advice to anyone searching for a good muffin recipe - keep looking. The alterations may help some - but not enough. Save yourself the hassle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calais, Maine, USA
Living In: Norway, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2001
The taste of these muffins was okay but the texture was quite dense - more like a biscuit. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
This recipe was okay. Not at all what I expected it to be, and I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2001
These muffins are delicious, and so easy to make. I didn't want too much sugar in this snack, so I used a dash of cinnamon-sugar in place of the brown and white sugar topping suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
Well, I followed all the suggestions I read here. I added more sugar, 1/4 cup brown sugar, less oil, 2 eggs, more chips...plus I added a tsp of vanilla. I also sprinkled the tops with some extra morsels before the brown sugar/sugar mixture. Anyway, I am guessing they would not have been as good if I followed the original recipe. But with the changes, they were delicious. They tasted like bakery muffins! The dough was not as thick as I thought it would be, so I didn't need to add extra milk. Thank you to all of you who sent in your reviews. They are always a big help! I will make these again sometime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Turnersville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I baked those for the Bake Sale at my daughter's school this morning. Good recipe, yummy and very moist! I followed some of the recommendations (more milk and a little more oil) and it turned out great. As for next time: I would cancel the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Ok so my boyfriend and I have died and gone to muffin heaven... this chocolate chip muffin recipe may sound pretty standard to make, but I think the brown& white sugar topping really does add something extra (like a sugar high, lol). Instead of 3/4 cup milk I added 1 cup, and I used regular semisweet chocolate morsels instead of mini - but apart from this, I followed the rest of the recipe exactly. I did end up with way too much leftover sugary topping though, so I would suggest mixing 2 tbsp white sugar and 1 tbsp brown. I also sprayed the muffin tin with Pam (with Flour for Baking) AND gave a quick spray inside each paper liner, which I credit the ease of taking these muffins out. 20 mins in the oven is all it took for these babies to come out, perfectly puffed and sugared.. This recipe is def. a keeper for chocolate chip muffins - Thanks Nora!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marleysmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2001
My 3-year-old son wanted to make muffins a few days ago, and I didn't have any prepackaged mixes--we found this recipe, he helped me make it, and the muffins turned out great! I froze the remaining muffins; we reheated some this morning and they are great out of the freezer too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Moist Chocolate Muffins

See how to make simple homemade muffins that are moist and chocolaty.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States