Nora's Special Chocolate Chip Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
PERFECT SOY MILK SUBSTITUTE MUFFINS - yummy muffins... they did seem quite heavy as other reviewers have mentioned but muffins are traditionally heavy compared to cupcakes so I wasnt surprised at the texture/weight. I changed the milk component to VANILLA SOY MILK and it was GREAT!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
My family seemed to enjoy them (especially the kids), but they were a bit too heavy for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GalantaEire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
This muffin recipe was very easy to make. I did omit the sugar over the top, but they were still delicious. A little bit heavier of a muffin than I'm used to but filling and still very good. I'd certainly make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
This is a great, simple recipe for slightly sweet chocolate chip muffins. I've made them and brought them to work, and my co-workers love them. My roomate always asks me to make them, too. I love the sprinkling of sugar on top, it's a great touch. Thanks for sharing, Nora!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
These muffins turned out a bit too heavy for me. I measured and sifted everything exactly, but the result was a thick, dense cake, not a light, crumbly muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
I made this recipe on a Sunday morning for a treat. I didn't read the reveiws until they were in the oven. The batter seemed a little thick but in the end they were moist on the inside and crunchy on the outside. What a nice and simple treat. I used regular chocolate chips instead of mini which was fine. Muffins can sometimes be too moist and gooey that's why i really loved the texture. no modifications neccessary for me and I'm sure I'll try them again. To all the reviews muffins are definately a fickle baking choice and you should always make whatever modifications feel right at the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hazelton, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Sackville, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
Well, I followed all the suggestions I read here. I added more sugar, 1/4 cup brown sugar, less oil, 2 eggs, more chips...plus I added a tsp of vanilla. I also sprinkled the tops with some extra morsels before the brown sugar/sugar mixture. Anyway, I am guessing they would not have been as good if I followed the original recipe. But with the changes, they were delicious. They tasted like bakery muffins! The dough was not as thick as I thought it would be, so I didn't need to add extra milk. Thank you to all of you who sent in your reviews. They are always a big help! I will make these again sometime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Turnersville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
This recipe is flwaed. The muffins were too crumbly to come out of the tray, and when they did they didn't even taste nice. They were so bland, but what can u expect from flour and sugar? I liked the idea of leting the sugar on top, but there was toom much sugar, as soon as i inverted the tray, sugar; all over the floor. Unfortunately i did not read the other reviews until they were in the oven, which only others findings. DO NOT MAKE THESE MUFFINS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
These were not good at all - even with the alterations that were suggested. My daughter had been bugging me to make choc chip muffins for months - and she took a bite of one muffin and wouldn't touch the rest. Very disappointing in both taste and texture. Sorry - I usually try to come up with something nice to say, but I can't with this recipe. My advice to anyone searching for a good muffin recipe - keep looking. The alterations may help some - but not enough. Save yourself the hassle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calais, Maine, USA
Living In: Norway, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
I also used the alterd recipe and it turned out pretty good, not the best I have ever had though. I baked half of my batter right after making it and the muffins turned out good, but nothing spectacular. I put the remaining batter in the refrigerator overnight and baked them in the morning adding more vanilla extract,brown sugar, and milk. The muffins turned out much better than before, they were really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Zucchini-Chocolate Chip Muffins

Try these delicious zucchini muffins studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States