Noodles Marmaduke Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
I have never made beef stroganoff and may never have eaten either, so am not sure what it should be like. But we really liked this dish; it is great comfort food. I love what the wine & the consomme did to good old hamburger adding a lovely depth of flavor. I did parboil the noodles and do think they would have been underdone had I not done that; it didn't look like there would be enough noodles either, but it was just the right amount. My crimini mushrooms had gone bad, so I ended up having to use canned mushrooms which I added after the onion/garlic had sauteed; it worked. I omitted the lemon juice; didn't seem to fit with the other flavors. Left out the salt as there is salt in the consomme. Also took the advice of another reviewer and tossed in 2T of creamy horseradish; I think that really made the dish for us. Thank you, Jafware!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
A very tasty dish - after some modifications. First, as many reviewers have said, the noodles didn't get fully cooked. Some of them started to burn on the bottom of the pot, so I needed to add some water. I recommend cooking the noodles about halfway in a separate pot of water, then adding them to the beef mixture. Second, there were nowhere enough noodles for the amount of meat. I added more noodles and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
This was an excellent recipe. The only changes I made was to add a can of beef broth for the noodles and I left out the salt. It would have been way too salty (and I do like salt) if salt was added. I wrote the previous rating after we had it, but my husband just announced that he really didn't like it much. So I am lowering my rating to 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
Made this last night. Did not have any wine but used balsamic vinegar split w/ water. It took a little longer for the noodles to cook then stated but I did use a little more noodle then alloted. Very good though. Even as left over for lunch it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
Flavor was excellent (the red wine is an excellent addition)but the consistency of the sauce was very thin and did not adher to the noodles at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Vinson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
This was fantastic and so easy. To the reveiwer who found it almost inedible it is obvious that they must have done something wrong. The only thing I agreed with with that review was to leave out the lemon juice. As far as he said about pre-cooking the noodles that is not necessary and would defeat the purpose of an easy one pot dinner. This turned out great and we loved it! A true keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
Don't care for the name but LOVE the recipe. I used 1 & 1/2 cans of consomme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty van Zelderen

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
This was absolutely wonderful! Based on the prior reviews, I added extra beef broth(didn't have consomme) to make sure the noodles cooked but I think I added too much because I had to doctor it up to make it a little thicker. The taste was wonderful! Next time I will add more noodles and mushrooms. I also did not add the lemon juice because I didn't have any but when I make again I will omit because I liked it just the way it was! Thanks so much for a great, easy recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bark River, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
This is a great recipe. My husband and I both enjoyed this dish. Since I work full time I am always looking for quick and easy meals. This one fits the bill. I did tweak a bit, using round steak strips for stir fry instead of ground beef, for more chew power, and added just a bit of freshly ground nutmeg and about 2 tsps of sweet Hungarian paprika. End result was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
Two things made this almost inedible. 1. The lemon juice must go. It completely ruined it. 2. Why not just preook the noodles and add them later. Not only was one can of beef consomme not sufficient even two cans did not provide enough liquid to cook the noodles. I finally remembered an old trick I learned somewhere and added a larger can of chicken broth which finally cooked the noodles and "gentled" the taste of the beef broth enough to be able to eat some of it. Without the lemon juice that might have made it actually edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Tips and Noodles

See how to make a simple, beefy noodle dish.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Noodles

A truly old-fashioned chicken soup with homemade noodles and stock.

Egg Noodles

Freshly made egg noodles jazz up all your favorite pasta dishes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States