Nonnie's Ham Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
This turned out to be a big hit with my family. the first two times I made this, there was no left overs. There are 8 of us so I make a much larger batch. I did add more potatoes and used carrots rather than mixed veggies. I make it up a day or two in advance to take it camping with us & serve it with Texas Toast. Making a 3rd batch right now. Thanks for sharing this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Ive made this recipe before. Its great folks and don't change a thing except maybe your seasoning preference. Serve with some steaming hot rolls with real butter (butter is more healthy) and you have a cold weathers night winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeahW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I changed it just a little for my husband who had a tumor removed from his stomach and is on a liquid diet for a least two weeks, I cooked the potatoes and then pureed them with the milk I did not use the flour since the puree thickened it. and I did not add the vegetables
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
This was excellent. I only used white onion because Vidalia are not in season now, I didn't have the chicken bouillon so used about 1/2 of the 3 cups milk and 1-1/2 cups chicken broth. I also sauteed a little celery along with the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine Simmons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This was wonderful! I only added some minced garlic with the onions as we love garlic in this family, a little extra milk and grated a little fresh nutmeg into it. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenn
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Very tasty! I made a half a batch for lunch for my husband and I as I was looking to use up leftovers, not create more. But I sure wish I'd made a whole batch because now I want some for dinner too. I made it mostly as stated except added some celery and garlic with the onion, a little extra milk (about 1/8 cup), and about 1/2 cup of water when I put the ham and veggies (broccoli, cauliflower, & carrots) in as I like my soup just a bit thinner. I also stirred in 2 handfulls of shredded cheddar cheese at the end. Toasted up a little sourdough for the dipping, Mmmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I made this chowder following the recipe exactly. I used leftover ham from Easter, half a bag of frozen carrots and a can of corn, and served it with a loaf of homemade bread and butter. Both my husband and I really enjoyed it and I can't wait to have more! I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Even better heated up the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by houseofbrian
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Ive made this monthly, and its always great as directed, or with mods.. I usually make it with powdered milk, a bit more butter, and pepper, and I follow the directions on my chicken base.. Ive used canned ham, baked ham, smoked ham, and left over boiled ham from ham n beans. It all works good. Ive used sage instead of thyme and its great too. I always add garlic.. Its a great ham chowder. We love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by houseofbrian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I thought this was very quick and delicious. I served it with homemade pan rolls. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States