Nonnie's Ham Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
This was excellent. I only used white onion because Vidalia are not in season now, I didn't have the chicken bouillon so used about 1/2 of the 3 cups milk and 1-1/2 cups chicken broth. I also sauteed a little celery along with the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine Simmons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Ive made this recipe before. Its great folks and don't change a thing except maybe your seasoning preference. Serve with some steaming hot rolls with real butter (butter is more healthy) and you have a cold weathers night winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeahW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I wish I could give this 4.5 stars. While it was very good, I feel like something essential was missing. I added some celery that I cooked with the onion and also some garlic. I think next time I make this, I'll take the suggestion of another reviewer and stir in some cheese at the end. Thanks for the recipe, Kristin. My husband really loved this and I loved how simple it was to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA
Photo by Jenn
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Very tasty! I made a half a batch for lunch for my husband and I as I was looking to use up leftovers, not create more. But I sure wish I'd made a whole batch because now I want some for dinner too. I made it mostly as stated except added some celery and garlic with the onion, a little extra milk (about 1/8 cup), and about 1/2 cup of water when I put the ham and veggies (broccoli, cauliflower, & carrots) in as I like my soup just a bit thinner. I also stirred in 2 handfulls of shredded cheddar cheese at the end. Toasted up a little sourdough for the dipping, Mmmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I changed it just a little for my husband who had a tumor removed from his stomach and is on a liquid diet for a least two weeks, I cooked the potatoes and then pureed them with the milk I did not use the flour since the puree thickened it. and I did not add the vegetables
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by houseofbrian
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Ive made this monthly, and its always great as directed, or with mods.. I usually make it with powdered milk, a bit more butter, and pepper, and I follow the directions on my chicken base.. Ive used canned ham, baked ham, smoked ham, and left over boiled ham from ham n beans. It all works good. Ive used sage instead of thyme and its great too. I always add garlic.. Its a great ham chowder. We love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by houseofbrian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I made this chowder following the recipe exactly. I used leftover ham from Easter, half a bag of frozen carrots and a can of corn, and served it with a loaf of homemade bread and butter. Both my husband and I really enjoyed it and I can't wait to have more! I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Great! I did as it said but I didn't have a fresh onion so I used dried. Also, I used a whole bag of frozen vegetables but I should have only used half. Would maybe add another potato. Grated garlic and cheese made this incredible. It turned out wonderful! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I had to triple the recipe to get about 4 quarts for my family. Original would not have been enough. I added sour cream, salt, and more pepper. Even with those extras it's a little bland and I need a substitute for the flour. I don't like the flour aftertaste. If I use again, I will be modifying more. Just too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Even better heated up the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States