Nonnie's Ham Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Perfect for a cold winter night. Easy, quick, and you can vary the recipe to suit what you have on hand (besides the ham, of course!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I used frozen hash brown potatoes since I was in a hurry. I think they made it better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
I would give 3.5. I'll try this recipe again using less pepper and a little more chicken bouillon and maybe some other spices. It was just a little bland for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
This turned out to be a big hit with my family. the first two times I made this, there was no left overs. There are 8 of us so I make a much larger batch. I did add more potatoes and used carrots rather than mixed veggies. I make it up a day or two in advance to take it camping with us & serve it with Texas Toast. Making a 3rd batch right now. Thanks for sharing this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I thought this was very quick and delicious. I served it with homemade pan rolls. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Photo by houseofbrian
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Ive made this monthly, and its always great as directed, or with mods.. I usually make it with powdered milk, a bit more butter, and pepper, and I follow the directions on my chicken base.. Ive used canned ham, baked ham, smoked ham, and left over boiled ham from ham n beans. It all works good. Ive used sage instead of thyme and its great too. I always add garlic.. Its a great ham chowder. We love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by houseofbrian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Even better heated up the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I made this chowder following the recipe exactly. I used leftover ham from Easter, half a bag of frozen carrots and a can of corn, and served it with a loaf of homemade bread and butter. Both my husband and I really enjoyed it and I can't wait to have more! I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Great! I did as it said but I didn't have a fresh onion so I used dried. Also, I used a whole bag of frozen vegetables but I should have only used half. Would maybe add another potato. Grated garlic and cheese made this incredible. It turned out wonderful! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I wish I could give this 4.5 stars. While it was very good, I feel like something essential was missing. I added some celery that I cooked with the onion and also some garlic. I think next time I make this, I'll take the suggestion of another reviewer and stir in some cheese at the end. Thanks for the recipe, Kristin. My husband really loved this and I loved how simple it was to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States